Quantcast Avisynth: Advantages/Disadvantages of Using Gripcrop() or FitCD? - digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives]
  #1  
07-06-2005, 10:18 PM
sparskter sparskter is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello! New member, new post

Well. FITCD can generate avisynth scripts for manipulating overscan:

http://shh.sysh.de/fitcd.html

Here is a script for an avi 720x480 and overscan=3:

Code:
# -= AviSynth v2.5.5.0 script by FitCD v1.2.4 =-
AVISource("D:\animes\anime\Karekano\[Kamikakushi]_Karekano_01_[DVD_720x532][56D5A708].avi")
LanczosResize(640,432,0,0,720,532)
AddBorders(40,24,40,24)
#Trim(0,43296).FadeOut(150)
And this is a script using GripCrop():

Code:
movie="C:\karekano.avi"
AVISource(movie,false)
myoverscan=3
width=720  #352, 480, 528, 704, 720
height=480  #240, 480

GripCrop(720,480,overscan=myoverscan,source_anamorphic=false,dest_anamorphic=false)
GripSize(resizer="LanczosResize")
GripBorders()
Well, my question is: is there any difference between these two methods(fitcd and gripcrop() ) ? Is GripCrop() better ?

best regards
sparskter
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Site Staff / Ad Manager
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-06-2005, 11:34 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi sparskter, and welcome
I suggest you keep using FitCD, because GripFit sometimes will give you a (pun intended) fit
Really. Sometimes it just gets confused with the source, and will give you wrong parameters. So it's better to keep using FitCD.

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #3  
07-07-2005, 03:28 AM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Let do a slightly different answer : GripCrop is aimed to cut the existing borders of the source and then resize the remaining areq (called film area) correctly.

It's true that FitCD is better to compute the resizing parameters but you have to feed with correct values if there are some borders in your source (border that you have to find using virtualdub and the nulltransform filter for instance).
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KVCD AviSynth GripCrop() settings? Brenth Avisynth Scripting 4 08-08-2008 11:42 AM
Avisynth: Gripcrop picture a bit squeeze? Glebix Avisynth Scripting 8 08-26-2004 01:10 PM
Avisynth: Trouble with GripCrop in the MA script! audioslave Avisynth Scripting 17 07-08-2003 11:19 AM
Avisynth: GripCrop before all filters? ozjeff99 Avisynth Scripting 5 06-22-2003 03:23 AM
Avisynth: GripCrop for 2.52? telemike Avisynth Scripting 1 06-12-2003 06:08 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM  —  vBulletin © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd