Quantcast Authored DVD does Not Play on Standalone DVD Player? - digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives]
07-23-2005, 05:24 AM
Free Member

Having been on the KVCD front for a quite some time, I'm now relatively new to KDVD.

I've made a total of 3 DVDs now but am having problems with the last one I did.

It is a one-movie DVD and I've authored with TMPGEnc DVD Author 1.6 then burnt it to disc using Nero (as with the others before it). The actual content of the burnt DVD is:-

Folders
AUDIO_TS
VIDEO_TS

VIDEO_TS contains
VIDEO_TS.bup 8KB
VIDEO_TS.ifo 8KB
VTS_01_0.bup 152KB
VTS_01_0.ifo 152KB
VTS_01_0.vob 3,232KB
VTS_01_1.vob 1,048,404KB
(the same for each file up to VTS_01_4.vob)
VTS_01_5.vob 347,220KB

As far as I can tell, this is a perfectly acceptable file structure for a DVD. Indeed, it is pretty similar to other discs I have made and own. I therefore don't understand why this particular disc cannot be read in my Standalone when others from the same batch can be.

If it's in any way relevant, I set up a very basic menu via TMPGEnc DVD Author 1.6 to show a still from the movie and nothing more. This is the content of VTS_01_0.vob

If there is some way to make this disc usable then I'd be grateful to learn how. It's strange cos it can be played fine via PowerDVD (but with Media Player Classic and WMP there is no sound).

Any help is most appreciated.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Site Staff / Ad Manager

07-23-2005, 09:01 AM
Free Member

What happens when you put this disc into your standalone ?
07-23-2005, 11:04 AM
Free Member

When I put it in my standalone (Yakumo) it remains at the 'loading' stage and makes a clickin noise about once every second as it seeks to identify the disc. It never gets past this stage.

When I put it into the DVD drive I burnt it from, it makes a couple of clicks (not normal, compared to the other DVD's in that batch) but eventually finds the DVD data.