Quantcast Fixing Tool - Memory Could Not be Read Error - digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives]
  #1  
08-24-2005, 04:47 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Updated JAN/09/2006
- Added italian version.
- Added alt versions.
- Note: You can use alt versions as they don't need any dll. Only in case that alt versions doesn't work do use no alt versions.

Updated JAN/06/2006
- Fixed a minor bug in kill-error_en_alt.exe

Updated DEC/17/2005
- Not more asking for closing when XP shutdowns or restarts.
- English version also deal with "Program Error" problem.
- Spanish version.
- Portuguese version.

Kill-error_en.zip
Kill-error_en_alt.zip (for people that first one gives a "wbt error")
Kill-error_es.zip
Kill-error_es_alt.zip (for people that first one gives a "wbt error")
Kill-error_it.zip
Kill-error_it_alt.zip (for people that first one gives a "wbt error")
Kill-error_pt.zip
Kill-error_pt_alt.zip (for people that first one gives a "wbt error")

Here is a general tool, for any app that gives you the error "memory could not be "read"" in Windows XP.
Unzip it where you want and create a direct access and put it in Start folder.
Kill-error will run in background and, when an app gives you the error, error window will be closed automatically.

If you want to unload the program, you need to do it from task manager.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OUTDATED: This is an old cmd version.

Please don't take it as double posting. It is and not related with video.
I posted it to fix an HC Encoder problem, but it is a more general tool also.
Thanks.

For the moment you can deal with "memory could not be read" error in this way:

Batch file, Kill-Error.bat has this code:

Code:
@echo off
rem I like this color
color 17
Title HC Encoder error killer by Prodater64

:cmdow
timeout 10>nul
for /f "tokens=8*" %%I in ('cmdow') do (
if "%%J" equ "HCbatch 0.15 beta - by hank315: HCbatch_015.exe - Application Error" (
cmdow "HCbatch 0.15 beta - by hank315: HCbatch_015.exe - Application Error"* /cls & goto :cmdow
)
)
goto :cmdow

Note that quoted parameter following "cmdow" and "equ" is the error window message caption when HC Encoder want to close.
This batch file is an infinite loop, it is for you to deal with your problem by the moment, so to work with it, just run the bat file.
Once finished your work with HC Encoder, just close cmd window.
You can adapt this to any program that gives you a similar error, or another one, ever that that error dont be a critical one, it is to say, your app should keep running after and despite the error.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Site Staff / Ad Manager
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-24-2005, 05:37 PM
Zyphon Zyphon is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, England (UK)
Posts: 1,035
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Again I say thank you Luis for providing this.

While testing your new tool ProCalc_Lite, it was a pain in the butt to keep getting that error every time that HC quit after the sample prediction.

Now with this fix that error is history. Nice1.
__________________
Regards.

Michael.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
08-24-2005, 07:05 PM
Dialhot Dialhot is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 10,463
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Luis,

Be carefull when you do such app to put at least a readme.txt file referencing the origin of the tools you use (here cmdow). Think as if you were the author of the tool.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-24-2005, 07:07 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialhot
Luis,

Be carefull when you do such app to put at least a readme.txt file referencing the origin of the tools you use (here cmdow). Think as if you were the author of the tool.
Thanks for your advise. I will include it in next release.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
08-24-2005, 07:19 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-03-2005, 08:16 AM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Updated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-03-2005, 10:32 AM
Zyphon Zyphon is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, England (UK)
Posts: 1,035
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for updating this tool so that it can work with generic programs. I had this memory error with a couple of encoders when they exited and now the errors are magically whisked away by this great background tool.

Great work Luis and thanks again.
__________________
Regards.

Michael.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-03-2005, 11:21 AM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zyphon
Thanks for updating this tool so that it can work with generic programs. I had this memory error with a couple of encoders when they exited and now the errors are magically whisked away by this great background tool.

Great work Luis and thanks again.
Your welcome as ever.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
09-04-2005, 09:40 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The file list I know somebody (and me too) had problems.

HC Encoder******************* Zyphon, Sparkster
FreeEnc 0.44******************Me
FreeEnc 0.31******************Zyphon
Headac3he*********************Sparkster
PowerDVD**********************Me
avicodec*************************Me
AutoQMatEnc******************Me
EclCreate************************Me


@Dialhot: Could you make this post stickie, and perhaps move to any other better subforum. I think this is an issue that become each time more frequent.
It seems yes it is related to video.
Thanks.

@all
I did a test:
Open a m2v file with PowerDVD and close it, it gives me the error.
Open PowerDVD without load any file, it does not give me error.
Open same m2v file, extension changed to avi, with PowerDVD and close it, it does not give me error.

Does sombody here can realize why?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
09-04-2005, 09:47 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodater64
Does sombody here can realize why?
Could it be that PowerDVD doesn't follow a CODEC order, and first it relies on the filename extension

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #11  
09-04-2005, 10:01 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodater64
Does sombody here can realize why?
Could it be that PowerDVD doesn't follow a CODEC order, and first it relies on the filename extension

-kwag
But the file is played anyway?
But colors are shifted as when we need to use swapUV()
Reply With Quote
  #12  
09-04-2005, 10:07 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
But you mean if you leave it with extension of .m2v it doesn't play, right
But it plays as .avi
If that's correct, then I believe you have some CODEC pack in the way or a CODEC conflict, that PowerDVD is selecting when the extension is .avi.

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #13  
09-04-2005, 10:19 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
But you mean if you leave it with extension of .m2v it doesn't play, right
But it plays as .avi
If that's correct, then I believe you have some CODEC pack in the way or a CODEC conflict, that PowerDVD is selecting when the extension is .avi.

-kwag
Nope.
The m2v plays, but when I close PowerDVD the error popups.
The m2v renamed to avi, plays and not error when closing the program.
I have not installed any codec pack, but my codec list is:

Quote:
cvid Cinepak® Codec
dfsc***Unknown
div3***DivX
div4***DivX
divx***DivX® Codec for Windows
ffds****Unknown
hfyu***Huffyuv lossless video codec
i420***Studio 600 Codec
iv31***Intel Indeo R3.1
iv32***Intel Indeo R3.2
iv41***Intel Indeo® Video 4.5
iv50***Intel Indeo® video 5.11
iyuv***Intel Indeo(R) Video YUV Codec
m261*Microsoft H.261 ICM Driver
m263*Microsoft H.263 ICM Driver
mjpg**PICVideo Motion JPEG Compressor
mp42*Microsoft MPEG-4 Video Codec
mp43*Microsoft MPEG-4 Video Codec
mpg4*Microsoft MPEG-4 Video Codec
mrle**Compresor Microsoft RLE
msvc*Compresor Microsoft Video 1
pim1**PCLEPIM1 32-bit AVI Codec
tscc***TechSmith Screen Capture Codec
uyvy**Microsoft UYVY Video Decompressor
vifp****? ??
vp40**Unknown
vp50**Unknown
vp60**VP6 VIDEO FOR WINDOWS CODEC
vp61**VP6 VIDEO FOR WINDOWS CODEC
xvid***XVID Mpeg-4
yuy2**Microsoft UYVY Video Decompressor
yvu9**Toshiba Video Codec
yvyu**Microsoft UYVY Video Decompressor
BTW when I got the list, avicodec gives me the error when I close it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
09-04-2005, 10:29 PM
kwag kwag is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico, USA
Posts: 13,537
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is this only with PowerDVD
Have you tried VLC, or even WinDVD
Also, is it EVERY .m2v that you try to play on PowerDVD behave the same

-kwag
Reply With Quote
  #15  
09-04-2005, 10:56 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwag
Is this only with PowerDVD
Have you tried VLC, or even WinDVD
Also, is it EVERY .m2v that you try to play on PowerDVD behave the same

-kwag
VLC, Media Player Classic, WMPlayer2, WMPlayer10, BSPlayer and RealPlayer reproduce it and close without any error.
The problem is with every m2v, vob or mpg.
But you can see another programs also gives me same error.
For example FreeEnc 0.44.
Zyphon has same problem with HC Encoder.
So the problem is with encoders and decoders, and also codecs (avicodec), then or the problem has anything common to all this programs, or the error is produced for many factors.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
09-05-2005, 02:52 AM
Zyphon Zyphon is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London, England (UK)
Posts: 1,035
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes I can confirm that I had the same problems when using HC Encoder while I was testing Pro Calc Lite.

After HC finished with its sample pass and tried to exit I would get that Memory error pop up. On a rare occasion it would not pop up.

FreeEnc 0.31 would exit fine if I left it to finish its encoding, however if I quit the program half way through an encode then it to would produce the memory error.

PowerDVD for me thus far has never produced this error and I have tried it with .mpv and .m2v extensions so I guess I am lucky on this score.

The 'Kill-error' tool is so useful to me as I can run it, let it do its thing in the background and not have to sit by my PC pressing the 'OK' button every time HC throws up the memory error.

It is very strange behaviour indeed.
__________________
Regards.

Michael.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
12-16-2005, 07:05 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Updated DEC/17/2005
- Not more asking for closing when XP shutdowns or restarts.
- English version also deal with "Program Error" problem.
- Spanish version.
- Portuguese version.

Kill-error_en.zip
Kill-error_es.zip
Kill-error_pt.zip
Reply With Quote
  #18  
01-05-2006, 11:21 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Updated JAN/06/2006
- Fixed a minor bug in kill-error_en_alt.exe

http://www.kvcd.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=120372#120372
Reply With Quote
  #19  
01-06-2006, 07:19 AM
rds_correia rds_correia is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chinese Democracy starts now!
Posts: 2,563
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Luis.
Gladly I have never needed to use your tool but "you never know" right?
__________________
Rui
Reply With Quote
  #20  
01-08-2006, 08:46 PM
Prodater64 Prodater64 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Palma de Mallorca - España
Posts: 2,925
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Updated JAN/09/2006
- Added italian version.
- Added alt versions.
- Note: You can use alt versions as they don't need any dll. Only in case that alt versions doesn't work do use no alt versions.

http://www.kvcd.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=120372#120372
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avisynth: Out of memory error? Prodater64 Avisynth Scripting 10 09-27-2005 12:19 AM
TMPGEnc: Memory error, could not read memory at address Stevis2002 Video Encoding and Conversion 1 03-05-2004 06:19 PM
What is the best tool for fixing avi files? Bombero0437 Video Encoding and Conversion 1 08-23-2003 07:12 AM
tmpgenc and tok - the memory could not be read? ian Video Encoding and Conversion 2 08-22-2003 02:28 PM
TMPGenc Template Problem - out of MEmory error? tcorolla Video Encoding and Conversion 1 07-25-2002 12:51 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM  —  vBulletin © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd