Quantcast Optimum Capture Quality from TV Sources? - digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives]
03-11-2003, 08:39 AM
Free Member

Using WinTVGO 190 card with 2.53 P4 (WindowsXP) with 60GB free space.

Have Winvcr, Virtual Dub, Windvr. Capturing from cable tv.

Need advice concerning BEST method of capturing and processing for BEST possible output. I have latest Huffy and Picvideo MJPEG codecs and have installed btwincap drivers. Need detail settings for best method in whichever program is recommended.

I'm quite new to all this!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Site Staff / Ad Manager

03-11-2003, 10:30 AM
Free Member

Send a message via MSN to el_mero_zooter
nick,
what do you want to cap to - avi or mpg1/2 ?
Huff codec will probably give you a really good avi easily editable and good quality. May have to ivtc, de-interlace, etc...
If you'd like to cap with mpg2, try the highest settings you can, seems like your rig can handle it. If im capping mpg2 to skvcd or kdvd i cap at 48khz audio and 10.5mbs or so for video on my ati radeon.

ztr
03-11-2003, 10:36 AM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by el_mero_zooter
nick,
what do you want to cap to - avi or mpg1/2 ?
Huff codec will probably give you a really good avi easily editable and good quality. May have to ivtc, de-interlace, etc...
If you'd like to cap with mpg2, try the highest settings you can, seems like your rig can handle it. If im capping mpg2 to skvcd or kdvd i cap at 48khz audio and 10.5mbs or so for video on my ati radeon.

ztr
You're talking a bit over my head (my deficiency, not yours). I am more interested in capturing AVI to use in TMPGEnc/KVCDx3.

Which capture program are you using?
Which codecs and settings?
I have latest Huffy. Do I use YUY2, and how do I configure?
Which frame size?
03-11-2003, 11:45 AM
Free Member

Which frame size?

For avi i use,
avi_io, virtualdub and (ati all-in-wonder radeon) their digital vcr software.