Quantcast How to Remove VCR Noise from Bottom of Screen? - digitalFAQ.com Forums [Archives]
  #1  
03-28-2003, 11:56 AM
Icarus3000 Icarus3000 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am capturing old VHS-C home movies through an Analog-DV converter, and encoding to KVCD.

At the bottom of the screen on the capture there is ~ 20 lines of distortion.

I was wondering what is the most efficient way of cropping out the bottom 20 lines? I know I can do:

letterbox()

but if I do that at the beginning of my script, I end up filtering black lines for no reason, and if I do it at the end of my script, I end up filtering lines that I will later be removing!

What about cropbottom()? Is that better to use in this case? And if so, where in my script should I include this command.

Many thanks,
Icarus
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Site Staff / Ad Manager
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-28-2003, 12:11 PM
Bytecode Bytecode is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Crop(0,0,0,-20)

Crop(LEFT,TOP,RIGHT,BOTTOM)

And I would do it first thing after loading my movie. There is no point doing any processing on a piece of the film that won't be encoded. ;p


Hope this helps.

-BC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-28-2003, 12:52 PM
Icarus3000 Icarus3000 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Bytecode!

Will try that when I get home tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-28-2003, 12:56 PM
el_mero_zooter el_mero_zooter is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: T.O. (Da T-Dot)
Posts: 498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to el_mero_zooter
I3000,

if i understand you correctly all you want to do is remove the (scan) lines, white noise from the bottom. Usually it's all the extra crapazoids that you'd get from vhs captures.
If so, I usually clean up about 7 or 8 lines depending on the type of capture and how dirty it appears.

I use the following comment in my vhs avs scripts

Cropbottom(7)


{6, or 7 or 8 depending on how many lines the capture needs}



Zooter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-01-2003, 12:29 AM
Valky Valky is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
and also many captureprograms like VirtualVCR and Virtualdub can do this while you capture, so you might save some extra frames if there otherwise could have been some dropped frames during bad signal.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Widescreen vs Full screen? film takes small proportion of screen? vdk_au Video Encoding and Conversion 1 02-01-2004 12:35 AM
tmpgenc vs wide black areas on the top/bottom of the screen? nicksteel Video Encoding and Conversion 2 08-14-2003 08:31 PM
KVCD: remove the noise around characters?? dionysus Video Encoding and Conversion 15 02-12-2003 01:15 PM
Avisynth: Help on choosing filters to reduce blocks and remove noise? yauman Avisynth Scripting 24 01-13-2003 06:28 AM
faint snowy bar scrolls up from bottom of screen? cracker Players, DVRs, Media Centers 2 06-14-2002 05:00 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM  —  vBulletin © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd