Quantcast Best way to backup system/hard drive - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
09-19-2011, 02:55 PM
cyber-junkie cyber-junkie is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 232
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have a pretty fully loaded and up to date XP pro, this system has been going for a long time, much info, programs, etc., etc., what is the best way to protect/save it? Get another HDD and copy all over somehow or what?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-02-2011, 01:12 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 584 Times in 437 Posts
Yes, clone the hard drive.
For a Windows computer, I highly suggest Acronis TrueImage. It will succeed where most others fail.

While you could get it from the Acronis site (as a download), it's cheaper from Amazon (on a disc).
And then the previous version is $25 used: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B003VIVY7G
I'd get that.

Newer 2012 version as download: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage

I use 2011 on our Windows XP systems. Never failed.

It's better than Norton Ghost, better than Paragon's drive backup/cloning utilities. Avoid freeware tools for this task!

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-05-2011, 11:22 AM
cyber-junkie cyber-junkie is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 232
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I see the 2009 version is better priced and seems to have better reviews and is made for XP and vista, is it ok for my needs or will the 2011 do something I will need better than 2009?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
10-05-2011, 11:53 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,477
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
I think 2009 would be perfectly fine.
Not much has changed between versions of Acronis software in recent years, aside from OS support.

I see the deal on 2009 here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B001DSGXFY
$15 new (free shipping on $25 order, sold by Amazon)
or $10 used (free shipping on $25 order, sold by Amazon)

If I were you, I'd buy some blank DVDs, a book, etc -- then get everything you need/want with free shipping.
I always have a couple of TV DVD box sets or Doctor Who books in my Wish List, for those times when I need another $5-10 to qualify.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
10-05-2011, 12:22 PM
cyber-junkie cyber-junkie is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 232
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
I think 2009 would be perfectly fine.
Not much has changed between versions of Acronis software in recent years, aside from OS support.

I see the deal on 2009 here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B001DSGXFY
$15 new (free shipping on $25 order, sold by Amazon)
or $10 used (free shipping on $25 order, sold by Amazon)

If I were you, I'd buy some blank DVDs, a book, etc -- then get everything you need/want with free shipping.
I always have a couple of TV DVD box sets or Doctor Who books in my Wish List, for those times when I need another $5-10 to qualify.
And another HDD I would assume to clone, amazon has a Seagate 1 TB for a good price After the clone I assume you can leave it in the computer, just unplug it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
10-05-2011, 12:29 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,477
Thanked 1,392 Times in 1,224 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyber-junkie View Post
After the clone I assume you can leave it in the computer, just unplug it?
Yep.

Just don't stack the drive on top/under the other one. Don't create a heat trap.
Only leave it in the computer if there's plenty of free space around the drive, and the case is well-cooled.
Remember to unplug both power and data.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-15-2013, 05:27 PM
cyber-junkie cyber-junkie is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 232
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Will Acronis TI home 2009 work on win 7 pro? Some out there say it will and they have used it (at least to create the backup) but Acronis reps say you need 2010, is this a sales thing? I don't want to mess up the laptop...I have searched the free Win 7 backup software and EaseUS rated good on cnet.

Last edited by cyber-junkie; 01-15-2013 at 05:29 PM. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-18-2013, 10:12 PM
vagain vagain is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
There are also online storage available.Will that be better than storing in a hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
01-25-2013, 12:32 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,242
Thanked 354 Times in 332 Posts
I can only find Acronis 2010 on my system. So I really cannot say.

That's why it took so long to get back to you -- I looked and looked, but I don't have that one anymore. That means 2010 was that much better than 2009, that I probably deleted it!

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
01-27-2013, 08:31 PM
cyber-junkie cyber-junkie is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 232
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Does win 7 professional backup work or is windows still not a good choice for backup?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
01-30-2013, 12:22 AM
JMP's Avatar
JMP JMP is offline
Former Site Staff | Computers
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 171
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
The Windows 7 backup utility can work to make a system image, but the best choice for a backup is Acronis TrueImage Home. I recommend the current 2013 version. I actually used this last night to backup a failing hard drive and restored the image to a new hard drive without any issues.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Check out my latest Editorial.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
03-25-2013, 04:52 AM
kaliree kaliree is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 80
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Clonezilla is also excellent and free. I have used it for countless hard drives clones and drive images, but it is not user friendly and will require careful reading and some research on the Clonezilla forums if you want to try it. If in doubt, cough up the cash for Acronis.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove RAID: dissimilar hard drive system backup/restore manthing Computers 1 09-18-2011 12:50 PM
Backup software from home drive to offsite drive Sossity Computers 5 03-07-2011 06:31 PM
Best hard drive for archiving photos on a Mac? Help me pick a new backup drive... admin Photo Processing, Scanning & Printing 3 03-05-2011 10:23 AM
Which DVD & hard drive for archving ? highlander11 Blank Media 12 09-01-2010 03:12 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM