Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-29-2012, 03:03 PM
Free Member

I would like some direction on how to go about reinstalling OS.
My OS presently is on a 500 GB hard drive.
I just bought a new 500 GB hard drive for the OS to be installed on and have physically placed the hard drive in tower.
My OS is still in operating condition on the hard drive but have had this computer since early 2009.
It sometimes is sluggish about opening an app but I haven't had crashes with known solid designed programs.
Over this time, I have installed and uninstalled many programs so I think the registry is cluttered and I would rather reinstall instead of waiting for the hard drive to die.
I can still process video, even blu-ray so it is still in working order.
I am not too good at computer related stuff and have no experience doing an OS install.
To further complicate matters, I am on dialup.

OK so I need someone to sort of guide me or at least point me with internet links on how to do an install.

I suppose the first thing to do is format the new drive?
Do I put a partition for the OS?
I think I can at least format since I added a hard drive early last year and formatted it.

I read somewhere about saving driver info...some far I don't much about that.

Perhaps I would be better off paying someone to do this for me?
Or at least I could try to do it and if not successful, then pay someone?
Any advice will be appreciated.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-29-2012, 04:07 PM
Site Staff | Web Development

Paying somebody is easy. Everybody claims to be an expert fix-it service these days.
Getting quality service is what's hard. Lots of them are lazy, give up, and don't care two farts about losing your data.

Format the new drive, yes.
DO THIS CAREFULLY! Do not accidentally format your current drive. Pay attention, read what's on screen!

When you format it, it tends to ask you right away about making a new partition.