Quantcast 4K video editing PC build - is it good enough? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-03-2016, 08:29 AM
mr-vhsc mr-vhsc is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi All,

I would be much appreciated if the experts on here could have a look at my parts list to see if this build would be good enough to handle 4K video editing and rendering.

http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/wf4kxr

Many thanks in advance. If you recommend any changes then please advise and also why.


Regards
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-03-2016, 09:19 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
Ehh... maybe. Video likes to eat CPU, and 4k eats more before breakfast than other videos eat all day.

Skylake is the future, not Haswell. I have the new i7-6700K, and it's easily faster than the i7-5820K. Most video operations are single- or dual-core, so the main factor here is raw clock speed. It's a 4.0+ vs a 3.3+. So the 6700K in practice is about 25% faster, regardless of benchmarking (mostly non-video use).

And with Skylake, all other hardware must change: motherboard, RAM, etc.

I'd even suggest putting the video on a scratch SSD drive for editing, and only store on HDD when done. That's what I'm doing. That removes most I/O bottlenecks, which, for this exact use, is the main video bottleneck these days.

The Noctua D14 cooler is far nicer. It makes no noise whatsoever with 1 fan (all it needs) and the noise adapters. It's easily the largest part of any computer that I've ever had, going back 30 years.

I'm using a pair of 1TB SSD Samsung 850 EVOs.

That Seagate 4tb is currently the best drive. I have one now, and the other is forthcoming.

Check out the Antec Three Hundred II case. Several members of this forum like it, as well as the 300 before that.

I just finished making all these decisions myself, back in October. My main system motherboard is having problems, and it was time to upgrade my 6-year-old AMD Phenom II Quad. Total cost was somewhere between $2k and $2.5k (USD). I'm hoping to have it for 5-7 years (~$35/month max for life of the system).

Just an alternative to consider...

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-03-2016, 09:56 AM
mr-vhsc mr-vhsc is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The 6700K has 4 cores whereas the 5820K has 6 cores. Is more cores not better?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-03-2016, 09:59 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,762
Thanked 2,149 Times in 1,849 Posts
Nope. Cores often do not matter. It's why so many CPUs are still 2-4 cores, and no more. The software must comprehend more cores, and video software simply does not do that. Raw gHz clock speed and cache/instructions are what matter most. Sometimes you'll even find that raw clock speed doesn't matter as much as cache and instructions.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-03-2016, 10:02 AM
mr-vhsc mr-vhsc is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Many thanks for your detailed and swift response. Much appreciated. New to all this so slowly trying to make sense of all this as i go along.

By the way what motherboard are you using with the 6700K. Also i have no intention of overclocking or adding any water coolers or anything of the sort.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-03-2016, 02:43 PM
mnewxcv mnewxcv is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What software will you be using to edit 4k?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-05-2016, 11:14 AM
mr-vhsc mr-vhsc is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 17
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i am looking to use Adobe Premiere Pro CC
Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-06-2016, 02:36 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Premiere CC Subscription inexpensively

I work with Edius V.8.1


Attached Files
File Type: zip Edius_8.1.zip (155.1 KB, 1 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best LCD monitors for video editing? via Email or PM Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 1 06-30-2012 08:38 AM
Getting Closer: Computer Build for video capturing Kenneth M Project Planning, Workflows 15 03-09-2011 02:39 PM
Editing with Womble MPEG Video Wizard [VIDEO GUIDE] admin Edit Video, Audio 12 03-05-2009 10:39 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM