Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-15-2018, 10:43 AM
Free Member

Hello all!

I’m starting a designing course and I’ve been told a Desktop computer can be the most economical solution to handle specific softwares like adobe Photoshop and After Effects perfectly.
Right now, i’m studying in Lisbon. So, I would need to buy it from Portuguese stores.
Anyway, I started my search and found this solutions. i’ll leave a link below.
My problem is that I don't know any of the components (in terms of performance). There are AMD and Intel Processors and I don't know what's the best. And then there are the graphics cards.
I saw reviews which said that to render videos properly you need a lot of RAM, how much do you think I should get?
I have a limited budget for the computer (I already have Monitor and peripherals). Around 1000€.
From the ones I selected, which do you think will fit better?
Feel free to make any question or suggestion!

My research: My Desktop PC Search
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

02-15-2018, 11:04 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokerstar View Post
Hello all!
I’m starting a designing course and I’ve been told a Desktop computer can be the most economical solution to handle specific softwares like adobe Photoshop and After Effects perfectly.
A desktop is definitely not "most economical", but it is most powerful -- especially for video work. And you can calibrate desktop monitors, and not really laptops/tablets.

Quote:
My problem is that I don't know any of the components (in terms of performance). There are AMD and Intel Processors and I don't know what's the best.
Video software tends to work better with Intel. That's always been the case. And Intel has always run cooler.

Quote:
And then there are the graphics cards.