Quantcast Calibrating monitor for video capture? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-21-2019, 03:00 PM
Micheal81 Micheal81 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 24
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have a HP 22CWA monitor. I know it's not ideal, but I'm trying to get it calibrated "good enough" without buying calibration hardware. I will use test patterns like found on http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/

I have a EVGA GTX 1070 graphics card. Do I use the graphics card settings or do I use the monitor's settings? A combination? My graphics card settings have a section where you can set dynamic range and color format or you can use default settings.

I also found a site the tested the monitor and has an icc profile. https://www.rtings.com/monitor/revie...pavilion-22cwa


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.jpg (54.5 KB, 1 downloads)
File Type: jpg Capture2.jpg (57.8 KB, 1 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-21-2019, 03:45 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,279
Thanked 1,370 Times in 1,205 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micheal81 View Post
Do I use the graphics card settings or do I use the monitor's settings? A combination?
Both.

Quote:
set dynamic range
Rarely good, boosts levels, fake color.

Quote:
I also found a site the tested the monitor and has an icc profile. https://www.rtings.com/monitor/revie...pavilion-22cwa
May help, may not.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-21-2019, 04:23 PM
hodgey hodgey is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 410
Thanked 102 Times in 85 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micheal81 View Post
My graphics card settings have a section where you can set dynamic range and color format or you can use default settings.
The defaults should be ok, unless you notice lack of contrast in very dark and bright areas. Computer monitors will normally use full range (0-255) RGB, other options are more for using with TVs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-21-2019, 04:36 PM
Micheal81 Micheal81 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 24
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Both.


Rarely good, boosts levels, fake color.


May help, may not.
So I first leave the graphics card settings on defaults, adjust with the monitor settings, then tweak with the graphics card settings?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Viewsonic VP2365wb/LED: Does monitor response matter for video capture? Mejnour Project Planning, Workflows 3 02-12-2018 07:13 AM
Calibrating a capture card to a video game console? (IRE) Zerowalker Capture, Record, Transfer 20 08-24-2014 09:58 AM
Best video monitor! 42" LCD TV vs small computer monitor? rocko Project Planning, Workflows 1 07-29-2014 07:35 AM
Advice for calibrating a broadcast monitor Mejnour Capture, Record, Transfer 3 07-26-2014 09:25 AM
Color calibrating your monitor? (Seeing "true" color of your video captures) baywatch242000 Project Planning, Workflows 4 04-09-2014 01:30 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM