Quantcast Computer audio problem - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-29-2006, 05:44 AM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi, i had a virus attack my computer and i had to reinstall windows xp. now i don't have any audio. when i went to control panel & sound, it states that no sound device is found. a friend told me that i probably need to reinstall the sound card driver. does anyone here know (LS) how to reinstall the driver for the sound card or what else i migh need to do to be able to hear audio on my computer. please let me know as soon as possible. any and all info is greatly appreciated. thanks stoogedog
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-29-2006, 06:43 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,640
Thanked 1,635 Times in 1,419 Posts
What card are you using? If you don't know, yank it out and look at it (turn computer off first, of course). Or is it integrated onto the motherboard?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-29-2006, 06:46 AM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi, i have no idea. i'll try to determine that this evening. i know i'm not going to yank it out. i'm not techie enough. lmk. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-29-2006, 06:55 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,640
Thanked 1,635 Times in 1,419 Posts
It's just 1 screw holding in a board that slides into the motherboard. If you can operate a toaster or oven, pulling out a computer card should be a piece of cake too. See what brand or model info may be written on it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-30-2006, 11:10 AM
weevil6772 weevil6772 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Right click my computer, click the properties tab,click hardware tab,then click on device manager, and click on your sound card to see if it's working properly and if the driver is ok.You can choose to update it through that option.Also check to make sure you don't have your speakers muted on your pc volume control panel.Probably nothing major just the driver/mute issue.You really should check those before resorting to pulling the card out and re-installing it.However as a last resort that should fix the problem if nothing else.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-30-2006, 11:13 AM
weevil6772 weevil6772 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yep...just re-read your first post, didn't realize your card wasn't showing up at all.Go with the option of removing the card and re-installing it.It's pretty easy, just be gentle with it and don't force the card back in.Windows xp is plug and play, and it should find the card for you when you boot back up.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-30-2006, 03:10 PM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi, i went to hp website and thru chat downloaded a file for the driver. file downloaded and installed ok, but still get message in sound/ audio "no device". believe sound device is c-media ac97. does anyone have an idea of what i need to do. i try to update the driver, but it doesn't update. it seems like the driver i downloaded is there but won't intialize. got any ideas? please lmk what you think. i sure don't want to have to take the card out. thanks stoogedog
Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-30-2006, 05:40 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,640
Thanked 1,635 Times in 1,419 Posts
AC '97 is a VIA driver.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
10-01-2006, 12:06 PM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi LS, is there any way to look at the hardware list in propreties to see what audio device is? please let me know. thanks samuel
Reply With Quote
  #10  
10-01-2006, 12:11 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,640
Thanked 1,635 Times in 1,419 Posts
Get an audio driver from the VIA Arena site:
http://www.viaarena.com/default.aspx?PageID=2&Type=1

I don't know what OS you have, and you'll have to guess on which motherboard you have.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
10-01-2006, 03:10 PM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi LS, thanks for the info and link. when i have time in the next day or so, i'll follow the instructions on the website. thanks stoogedog
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow computer: Do I really need all those programs running? Canon Computers 1 02-20-2009 11:43 PM
Computer Crashed Need Help stoogedog Computers 0 01-05-2009 07:16 AM
Audio Loss on transfer from DVDR to Computer Tom_n_Jonna Edit Video, Audio 2 10-09-2005 04:15 PM
Audio Problem ninjastriker Capture, Record, Transfer 6 07-20-2005 08:28 AM
ATI/Creative Audio/Video sync problem Edye Capture, Record, Transfer 4 11-21-2004 03:12 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM