Quantcast How to split cable TV and cable internet coax for two rooms ? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
12-03-2006, 04:07 AM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi, i have comcast cable internet and have a question about connecting to the cable. can i split off from the cable for internet in my study and connect to a tv to have cable tv in the study? any info or input is greatly appreciated. please let me know. thanks samuel
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
12-03-2006, 05:55 AM
emokid emokid is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , USA.
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Yes, you can split off any line. It can degrade the cable modems signal.. But you shouldn't notice a whole lot, if your just surfing or not into constant downloading.. Now, some splitters won't let the cable modem work and get connection, some will. So just trial and error.. goodlcuk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
12-03-2006, 09:26 AM
padre2 padre2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 102
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
You have to be careful when splitting the coax. The splitter needs to support the higher frequencies (older splitters didn't). Also, if you're going to a 4 or 6 way powered spliter (amp), then make sure it's bidirectional. What I used to do is split the caple with a simple 1-to-2 spliter (one connection to the internet, the other to my 4 way powered splitter). That way my internet didn't go through the amp, and the 4 way amp would boost the signal to the TVs.

How many tvs?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
12-03-2006, 09:39 AM
emokid emokid is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , USA.
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Exactly Just more technical! Haha.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
12-03-2006, 01:52 PM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi, thanks for the info. i am just going to have 1 tv and the internet hooked up in my study. so a 1 to 2 splitter will do. 1 to the internet and 1 to the tv. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
12-05-2006, 03:00 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Just make sure there isn't more than one splitter between where the signal comes into the house and your cable modem. Once you put more than one splitter there, comcast usually won't support any problems. When you call them out, they will charge you and tell you that it was wired improperly. They have been out to my house several times (not for that reason), and it was mentioned to me in passing. Just something to keep in mind.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
12-05-2006, 06:15 AM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi, thanks for the input. stoogedog
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charter Cable Internet going slow? Here's the fix! (No need to change ISP!) kpmedia Computers 30 05-05-2019 05:31 AM
USB cable.. Y cable? emokid Computers 9 09-03-2006 06:43 AM
Best SCART cable brand names ? manthing Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 3 03-25-2006 03:17 AM
Where to buy USB cable that is male on both ends ? gatch72 Computers 2 07-06-2005 08:29 AM
Cable recommendations: Monster vs others of equal or better quality ? mlaviolette Capture, Record, Transfer 1 08-26-2004 12:31 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM