Quantcast Dvdremake help - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-11-2007, 05:58 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
what i have here is a movie that i split up.
not sure what i used to split. possibly dvdfab

dvd11.JPG

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


what i would like to do is to merge them back together but preserve the menus.

can someone suggest how i might do this?
is there a guide somewhere?

i already know how to merge the film and sacrifice the menus.
but if there is a way to preserve the menus, that would be great!

any ideas people.
cheers up front.


Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-11-2007, 08:11 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,392
Thanked 2,052 Times in 1,771 Posts
The guys at DVDReMake have a guide for this on their site. It's a bit buried, but it's there. I've actually dealt 1-on-1 with these guys, business stuff, and they're very helpful. I've never done that exact task, but it's possible, I've seen it discussed on videohelp.com before, referring to guides found on the DVDReMake site.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-14-2007, 12:04 PM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ok I use dvdremake all of the time so I want to be straight on this: you have two dvds now and would like to merge both to one dvd while keeping the menus from each disc? If thats so, its super easy do this:

open both discs in dvd remakepro (like you have in the picture)
click the "tools" tab on the top of the window. Select merge disc. You will get a new window where it ask what disc you want to select. Add in project 1 and project 2 (or whatever disc you want first) hit merge. Done! remake makes a generic menu that will allow you to select either disc. You can replace the generic menu should you choose to do so

If you do not want to do that but add the pgc from one disc to the other thats easy a well. Or if you want to add the pgc to the end of another pgc (like if the main movie was split between two dvds) I can help with that to. Please be a bit more specific.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-18-2007, 06:34 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
robot, ta for that.

i managed to join the split movie by selecting each block from the domain content view and pasting.
this allowed me to keep the original menu.

however when i came to shrink the joined movie i had problems.
dvd shrink threw up errors (division by zero) but i managed to debug it and somehow jump past the problem.

it may be that i did something wrong or the dvdremake version i have is buggy or whatever.

one question for the future ... what is the best/simplest software to split then rejoin a movie?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-19-2007, 11:08 AM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I still go with dvdremakepro for ease. You probably had the errors because after you add/join a pgc to another one, in the title options (for the vts title set your pgc belongs to, as well as the title set it falls under video manager)you have to add in the NEW chapters that the pgc will now contain.

In a nutshell all you would do is select "title", find the title of the video asset you need and click on it (so it is highlighted). Now right click and select the option add chapters. You will now get to add the additional chapters for the pgc you just pasted onto the end of the first one. Remember you have to do this twice. Once in the vts title set and the other under video manager.--
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM