07-21-2005, 04:14 AM
Premium Member

I am a novice at this and have used DVDShrink but I wanted to give DVD Decrypter a try. I got it and it is up to version 3.5.4.0. I never could reach the site listed in your Guide so I got it elsewhere. It has quite a few new settings but I tried to follow your Guide as closely as I could. Everything went fine until I tried to burn. The folder where I saved the DVD did not contain the MDS file even though I had the "create MDS File" box checked. All the files were in the folder and I burned the DVD on Roxio later (it played fine) but I would like to know why when I searched the source for the .MDS file there was not one?
When I ripped, I simply created a new folder on the desktop and told Decrypter to put the ripped files in it. What did I miss? My system is NTFS. I really like the fact this application shows the Manufacturer ID on the media.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-21-2005, 12:38 PM
Site Staff | Web Development

I'm a bit lost here. You list an awful lot of software, and it seems some info/details are missing.

MDS files are only created when you have a FAT32 operating system, 4GB limit, and the disc ISO is larger than 4GB. On an NTFS system, no such 4GB limit exists, it makes a big ISO file.

You only want to rip an ISO if the DVD is 4.38GB or less, the size of a recordable single-layer DVD. Or 7.95GB or less, for a dual-layer (or "double" layer) DVD recordable. For this operation, you rip in DVD Decrypter, as well as burn in DVD Decrypter.

If you have a source disc that is larger than 4.38GB, and you wish to make the copy onto a single layer DVD recordable, you have to shrink it. DVD Shrink is one piece of software, and DVD2ONE is the other one I suggest. For this kind of operation, you want to use DVD Decrypter in FILE MODE, and then use DVD Shrink to shrink and burn (either using the DVD Decrypter or Nero burning engines). Or use DVD2one and then burn the results in another software like Nero or RecordNow.