Quantcast Can someone make a Widescreen PSD Overscan? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-17-2008, 06:20 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I want to make a few menus in widescreen. Can someone make a psd file for widescreen menus?

thanks

Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-17-2008, 08:50 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
Is the content widescreen too? They need to match, You can't mix.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-17-2008, 09:03 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
of course.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-17-2008, 09:03 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
i found something to use on photoshop cs3 for now but an actual overscan psd would be better
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-18-2008, 02:11 AM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I hated Cs3 I m back to CS2 lol . Cs3 has a widescreen template. Select the option to view Guide.
Or open your DWS Template > Select ratio to be widescreen ...Piece o pie.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-14-2009, 06:05 PM
robjv1 robjv1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 187
Thanked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Wait a second -- are you guys saying you can't have 16:9 menus with 4:3 footage? I've done this without any problems with DVD-Lab Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-15-2009, 04:13 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,337
Thanked 633 Times in 452 Posts
Some software disallows mixing. From both a tech stance, and a content stances, it's best to match anyway.

I could never understand why certain DVD releases, (NCIS season 3 was one, I believe), where the menu was 4:3, but the content was 16:9. On some televisions, this was a nuisance, causing the viewer to have to switch the TV from 16:9 to 4:3 modes. What was the point of the different-sized menu?

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-15-2009, 07:25 AM
robjv1 robjv1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 187
Thanked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Ah ok I see where you are coming from. Yeah, I've noticed some DVDs like that too -- usually older movies where the print is 4:3 but the menus are 16:9 for some reason. I guess that depending how someones DVD player is connected and setup that it might not properly switch between the two. I have my DVD player set to 16:9 auto so that it plays 4:3 stuff in the proper aspect and then switches to 16:9 when necessary, but some people prefer 4:3 stuff to be stretched. I think you can also use in DVD Lab Pro to force a letterbox of the 16:9 menus on a 4:3 display.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make a DVD montage mehrdad Encode, Convert for discs 20 06-27-2008 09:30 AM
How NOT to make a menu markatisu Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 5 09-03-2007 03:28 PM
How to make bad DVD copies lordsmurf Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 1 01-04-2006 11:58 AM
Opinion of recording in Widescreen mode? padre2 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 10-18-2005 10:43 AM
The OVERSCAN Issue Explained (for DVD Menus) lordsmurf Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 9 07-16-2005 05:15 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM