Quantcast DVD Workshop audio import problems - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-27-2010, 02:31 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Another problem that I'm having is with the audio in Workshop.

As you know, when you seperate the audio from the clip, and bring the video clip into workshop, the clip will not have the music note symbol on it, you then have to hit the audio arrow, and import the audio clip and drag it onto the video clip...

Well, for several clips, I seperated the audio, restored it....but when I brought the video clip in, it had the music sign and I moused over it, and it said the background music for the clip was the mpg music file...but I already split the audio from that clip. It happened with all the clips for the DVD I'm trying to make for some reason.

Should I just bring the restored audio into workshop as normal and just drag it overtop the corresponding clip, even tho it already has the music note symbol on it?

I did try that, and it changed the audio name to my restored clip...but I wasn't sure if that's right to do or not..
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-27-2010, 02:45 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
Double click on the video clip in the asset "timeline" at the bottom of the screen.
It changes to EDIT mode, on the video.

Manage your audio here:

dvdws2-audiomgmt.jpg

You can use the audio in the MPEG, a different audio -- even multi audio -- etc.



- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: Superstar (02-27-2010)
  #3  
02-27-2010, 02:48 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Thank you very much, I had no clue about that option
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-27-2010, 02:51 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
Yeah, DVDWS2 is a very advanced program -- more options than most people think it has. It just takes a while to learn it, and understand that some of the settings go several tabs deep, almost hidden.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-27-2010, 03:04 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Yeah, I had the basics of what I need to know down for the most part, but I love learning new things

I just tried to add 5 clips, and it said the DVD size was 4.5 GB, will that be too big to burn onto a single layer DVD in ImgBurn? I know I'm at the limit, but I can't remember what the exact numbers are
Reply With Quote
  #6  
02-27-2010, 03:11 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
Your limit is 4.37GB for a single layer disc. You'll have to take something off, and just shift it to the next disc.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
02-27-2010, 03:33 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Does it usually take longer for Workshop to create the disc file on a comp dvd? It usually takes me about 15 min or so for it to create the disc file on a regular dvd, but thus far, it's taken 10 min. to convert the video of just the first clip..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-27-2010, 04:00 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Update....
It ended up taking 35 min. to do the whole thing..is that time somewhat normal for comp. DVDs?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
02-27-2010, 04:24 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
Did it convert the video?
Not just transfer it, but actually sit there and re-encode it?

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
02-27-2010, 04:50 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I don't believe so..
It did say converting the clip..thats when I made the first post about it...I watched the finished DVD and it looked good to me, but it just struck me as odd that it took so long
Reply With Quote
  #11  
02-27-2010, 04:55 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
Small delays like this area typically caused from one of the following reasons:
  • fragmented / full hard drive (reads slow)
  • complex / non-standard muxing of source
  • extra junk in source streams
  • menu build times
  • audio re-encoding
Just watch the "blue bars" carefully, to see what is or is not going fast.

If I had to hazard a random guess, your hard drives are just really full, and it takes longer to read the source files.

If it looks and sounds okay, then I wouldn't worry about it.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
02-27-2010, 05:10 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I have about 90 gb free on my hard drive. Just for future knowledge, how can I tell if it's re-encoding it?

What it said was converting video of the clip...thats what took like 15 min or so to do, it was the first thing that it did
Reply With Quote
  #13  
02-27-2010, 05:12 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
If the video encoding bar doesn't zip across rather quickly, it's re-encoding. Same for audio.

The only one that takes a while is the muxing/multiplexing and file writing.

I forget the exact syntax -- I don't have DVDWS2 open right now, not working on authoring anything today to look.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
02-27-2010, 05:23 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Why would it re-encode it then? I already encoded that particular clip that it said it was converting the video of...is there anything that I can do to prevent it from doing that again on the next ones?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
02-27-2010, 06:25 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
It only forces a re-encode when something is non-compliant, or when project settings force it. The only obvious answer is to always make DVD-Video complaint MPEG encodes, and to set upt he project correctly.

Encoding video, however, would take longer than 15 minutes, unless you have a quad-core and it was a half-hour or less of video.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
02-27-2010, 07:18 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I'm having another problem..
I just made another DVD, and when I viewed it on my tv, the first clip starts off ok, and then a few secs into it, it goes into this slow fast forward type thing..no other clip on the dvd is like that..
What's weird is, I just viewed that clip in my project in Workshop, and it doesnt happen in there, and I also viewed it in VLC media player, and it doesnt happen in there either...it plays normally in them both.
Why is it doing this?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
02-27-2010, 07:23 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
I don't know.
Was this a clip from the retail DVD?

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
02-27-2010, 07:55 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
No..its a homemade DVD that I took the match from, its weird it plays in both Workshop and VLC but in slow motion on my tv..since they play fine on my computer, should i like...try to reburn..i have no clue where to go from here with it
Reply With Quote
  #19  
02-27-2010, 09:11 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I re-ripped the match from the original dvd and re-burned it and its still doing it....the same slow fast forward..this is really frustrating me
Reply With Quote
  #20  
02-27-2010, 09:44 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
I have no idea -- never seen this.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD Workshop 2 - Out-of-Sync Audio Nosinik Encode, Convert for discs 8 03-25-2006 11:48 PM
Audio-video out of sync, other problems yargellham Capture, Record, Transfer 7 11-20-2005 02:28 PM
Audio synch problems in capture video ? darkness34r Capture, Record, Transfer 7 09-04-2005 11:24 PM
Ulead DVD Workshop - Audio ishmot Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 1 05-20-2005 12:07 PM
ATI/Premiere file import problem jla314 Capture, Record, Transfer 21 08-04-2004 09:58 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM