digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/dvd-menus/)
-   -   Photo Slideshow on DVD (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/dvd-menus/282-photo-slideshow-111n.html)

Hampton80 07-17-2007 12:25 PM

So I got a new scanner (CannoScan 4400F) and I would like to start scanning some old photos/negatives. The purpose of this would be to eventually create a video slide show to put on a Family DVD.

What settings should I use on the scanner (dpi, 24bit or 48bit) and what should I resize the image to for the DVD? Also, do these settings change if I'm preparing this DVD on an HDTV with 1024 x 768 resolution? I know dpi is more of a printing specification, but does this matter when I scan images for use on a computer/TV? A lot of questions, I know :)

I've seen several debates on this topic on the "other sites" but I'd like your $0.02

Thanks!

admin 07-18-2007 01:53 AM

My background is very heavy in photography, even more than video, so I can definitely give you a good answer on this one. I'd dealt with scanners and digital slideshows for about 13 years now.

The problem with flatbed scanners is that they are designed for scanning papers, and negative scanning is a bit of an afterthought. The quality of the scan is not the greatest (as compared to a negative/slide scanner), so you really want to scan as high a quality as you can. If you had a negative/slide scanner, you could get away with the lower quality scan settings. For example, I use the Nikon Coolscan V ED for my slides and negatives.

The other aspect to keep in mind is video is fairly low resolution by still image standards, a max of 720x480 (NTSC) or 720x576 (PAL) for DVD-Video. The effect of downsizing an image is you'll cover up some noise, so you'll be okay in the end.