Quantcast How NOT to make a menu - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
08-26-2005, 08:37 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
OK not going to comment a whole lot but seriously folks, if you are going to make a menu (not directed at anyone here specifically but just the hobby folks in general) at least make it legible and readable

This was from the original Powerpuff Girls set

powerpuff01.jpg

Now come on I cant even read the text much less the fact its split onto 2 menu pages so that the movie can have its own page

I made this to replace it (for more than one reason that I wont go into here) and it took about 5 minutes in Photoshop grabbinng some images from googles image search and using basic photoshop features

This menu has images and text tucked and the blue bars are bled off the screen so that it looks right on any TV. This of course is the TV safe area

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


Now I am not saying its retail quality or that its the greatest menu ever designed but I can (A) read it and (B) navigate it

With the other menu the author might as well have had no menu and just put each episode as a chapter because it produces the same result

Just a general observation, if you like menus then great keep making them, if you make them and it actually hurts the overall enjoyment (meaning if I have to hurt my eyes to see where I am going) then might as well make them non-existant because its not doing anyone any favors to make them THAT bad


Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-26-2005, 12:00 PM
wigam wigam is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Dunkin' Donuts
Posts: 100
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Wow that menu is seriously fugly. Pardon my french

I've seen worse
Reply With Quote
  #3  
08-26-2005, 07:34 PM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
We should start of thread of bad menus you have encountered, this had to be one of the worst, most I can make out whats on them just dont like the layout, etc. This one was the first times since 2003 I actually had to go up and say wtf does that say?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-27-2005, 04:36 AM
tek tek is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens, TN, USA.
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Man, my dvd recorder menus look better than that! That's really bad!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
08-28-2005, 12:42 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,919
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Alright, here's a gallery of BAD MENUS: http://www.crapvideo.com/menus/menus.htm
Complete with ruthless (but true) commentary!

If you see one of your menus on here, too bad. Even one of my oldest menus is on that page because it too is pretty tacky and hard to read. And what's TRULY SAD is that there may be 40 or more menus before the page is done.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-03-2007, 03:28 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
ouch, some bad menus there LS
and some acidic comments to go with it
i fear you will post one of my bad ones
and tear me a new hole!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make a DVD montage mehrdad Encode, Convert for discs 20 06-27-2008 09:30 AM
Can I Make Custom Buttons With TDA?? Konfusion Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 9 07-09-2007 11:08 PM
How to make bad DVD copies lordsmurf Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 1 01-04-2006 11:58 AM
Will I have to make adjustments daMaddColombian Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 1 08-08-2005 04:28 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM