Quantcast About the 2009 analog change (DTV, HDTV) - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
06-08-2008, 11:45 PM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am not sure if this could go here or should be in off topic? Besides the general, what I really do not like about this forced changed is the fact that technically it wipes out 30 years of equipment in one day.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-09-2008, 02:48 AM
padre2 padre2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 102
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
They had to do it, so the broadcasters can move on. Hopefully they'll utilize the open channels for something good.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-09-2008, 05:46 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
The open spectrum is set to be sold to wireless online/phone services (bidding ended a month or two ago), and then an expansion to emergency service bandwidth.

Much like oil, the airwave frequencies are a limited commodity. Television was an elephant that had to be replaced with mice.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-09-2008, 03:53 PM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I will get one of those converter boxes in the meantime. I suppose none of them will still act as a pass-through device even if the box is off (my svhs deck does this, lets the cable signal go through despite the vcr not being turned on)?
I assume on of the newer tivo type devices can accept the newer signals. I use a panny deck (w/Hard drive) to record some shows during the day to watch at home later (nothing I keep). Would need something that can do a variety of channels. I need this unless those digital 2 analog converters do allow pass through while still converting the signal.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-23-2008, 07:46 AM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Are you recording off Cable or Sat? If so, you don't need to do anything, they do it for you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-25-2008, 12:28 PM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
well I had the basic service that did not require a cable box. However this past week I did some adding and if I did get the HD box not only would I get a bunch of extra channels and no longer need anything for the 2009 change but I also would save an extra $2.

I find it ironic that for a while I have been paying so much for basic service and that for two dollars less I get a hell of a lot more channels and the stupid box, go figure
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Planning to digitize a lot of analog VHS and Hi8 videoviking Project Planning, Workflows 3 02-15-2011 10:04 AM
Anyone else notice wavy picture quality on analog TV ? WEW3 Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 8 04-11-2008 01:59 PM
Digitizing analog 8mm tapes: Best capture software ? mguitonxlt Capture, Record, Transfer 8 03-17-2008 08:16 PM
Anybody here know how to change your IP address? wayshway Computers 15 06-26-2006 11:13 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM