Quantcast Connecting my PC to my HDTV? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
12-29-2012, 12:05 AM
bigk181 bigk181 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Essexville, MI, USA.
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I have my computer setup to connect to a standard TV through AV and S-Video. Now that I have an HDTV that doesn't have S-Video, I connected an HDMI cable to my computer and then to my TV. The TV is on the right input but I can't figure out how to setup my computer to display on my TV. It's not working the same way it did with the standard TV. I even updated my video drivers in the hopes of getting the option to use my HDTV as a monitor but no such luck. The S-Video and AV cables are still connected through my video card and sound card. The HDMI cable is connected to my motherboard. It's the only HDMI out I have on my computer. Does anyone know how to set up my computer to display on my HDTV?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
12-29-2012, 09:33 AM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 207 Times in 189 Posts
you will need to change the settings in the BIOS to use the on-board graphics instead of the video card.
or simply just remove the video card.

the HDMI cable will carry the sound too so you can also remove the sound card.

you cant use both the onboard graphics and video card at the same time unless to have a hybrid cross-fire setup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
12-29-2012, 11:56 AM
bigk181 bigk181 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Essexville, MI, USA.
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I still use the video card and sound card with my monitor and external speakers. I will just find a converter that will convert S-Video to video since there is a video input on my TV.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
12-29-2012, 12:11 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 207 Times in 189 Posts
that is an option, but the video quality will be not as good and it wont be in HD.

if your motherboard has an HDMI output then is probably has a decent chipset
(probably an ATI HD4250 or better)

i would just upgrade the monitor to an HDMI unit
i use a 22" Vizio TV for a monitor - was cheap at Wal-mart
Reply With Quote
  #5  
12-29-2012, 01:46 PM
bigk181 bigk181 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Essexville, MI, USA.
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I mainly used the TV with the computer for watching online videos since I have an old monitor that's starting to die and the quality is better on my TV. Now that I have an HDTV, I can watch YouTube videos on there through my PS3. The standard TV that I used to have cut off the borders of videos when I watched them on my PS3. I will end up buying a new monitor eventually and then I can still use the video card and sound card. The quality on my old monitor isn't as good as it used to be.

Maybe I can find a converter that will convert s-video and audio to component. I have component inputs on my TV and I'm not using them for anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
12-29-2012, 02:08 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 207 Times in 189 Posts
if you plan to upgrade your monitor anyway then going all HDMI is the way to go

S-Video is really old tech and even with adapters/converter wont be anywhere near as good as the HD you will get using HDMI especially if your TV is a larger size.
what video card are you using? - my HD4860 is a couple years old and has HDMI and DVI
Reply With Quote
  #7  
12-29-2012, 04:29 PM
bigk181 bigk181 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Essexville, MI, USA.
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I still have a list of the components in my computer because I built it myself. Video Card: XFX GS250XZDFU GeForce GTS 250.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
12-29-2012, 04:46 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 207 Times in 189 Posts
ok that is a decent card - it has 2 DVI ports
all you need to do with that is use a DVI to HDMI adapter - dont even bother with the S-video port
a DVI to HDMI adepter is only a couple bucks and available anywhere
Reply With Quote
  #9  
12-29-2012, 08:42 PM
bigk181 bigk181 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Essexville, MI, USA.
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I have a male DVI port that I need to plug a female DVI to female HDMI adapter into in order to connect it to the 10 foot HDMI cable that I bought to hook up my computer to my HDTV. This one looks like a good choice: http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-HDMI-Fem...item3f204f3dae
Reply With Quote
  #10  
12-29-2012, 08:54 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 207 Times in 189 Posts
i would find one from a USA seller
stuff from Hong Kong takes forever
Reply With Quote
  #11  
12-29-2012, 11:34 PM
bigk181 bigk181 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Essexville, MI, USA.
Posts: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
It's OK. I can wait. There's no rush. It's 99 cents plus free shipping to the US. You can't beat that. One of the ways that you can find good deals on eBay is to buy from China. Sure it takes longer but you can find a great price. I'm still waiting on a wireless bluetooth mouse that I ordered from a seller in China. Another great deal.

-- merged --

I connected my computer to my HDTV but the display goes outside the screen at maximum resolution of 1920 x 1080 and there's no sound. I even tried using the audio cables but that didn't work because it's a different connection. I didn't think that would work but I wanted to try it anyway. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
01-20-2013, 03:41 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 207 Times in 189 Posts
DVI does not carry sound - only HDMI does
use the PC's speakers for sound.
you may have to change the resolution.

that the best you can do unless you get a video card with HDMI out.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which new plasma or LCD HDTV to replace Samsung 32" CRT HDTV ? lopaka1998 Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 17 03-23-2012 11:04 PM
Advice needed: Connecting an ATI AIW Card for capturing Steve Capture, Record, Transfer 1 12-16-2011 05:52 AM
Connect Dish Network to PC as 2nd TV using WinTV PVR 150? nik4u Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 2 10-25-2010 10:37 AM
Best new 32" HDTV for under 500/$500 ? d.smyth Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 5 12-27-2008 08:31 PM
Connecting different audio units to a stereo system stoogedog Capture, Record, Transfer 2 07-11-2006 03:28 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM