Quantcast How does everyone have their setup hooked up? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
07-06-2005, 04:00 AM
daMaddColombian daMaddColombian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a cable box, vcr, ps2, xbox, dvd recorder connected to the tv and I want to add tivo.

I was thinking of going this route:

Cable line >> cable box >> Tivo >> dvd recorder >> VCR >> TV

I have the ps2 and xbox connected through a 4-way input selector that is connected to the vcr, because my tv doesn't have a/v inputs, only RF connection.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-06-2005, 05:17 AM
allaboutduncan allaboutduncan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 200
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
That's probably the best solution. Although, I'd suggest a signal amplifier between the cable box and the TiVo. You should be able to get a small (8-12 db) one at Wal-Mart for less than $20.

Setup one:
Digital Satellite -> TiVo DirecTV Receiver -> DVD Recorder -> TV

Setup two:
Digital Satellite -> Satellite Receiver -> 8db amp. -> long cable run -> 20db amp. with FM noise filter -> ATI AIW card

Setup three:
JVC S-VHS vcr -> Datavideo TBC-1000 -> BVP-4 -> Detailer III -> ATI AIW Card
Reply With Quote
  #3  
07-06-2005, 06:05 AM
daMaddColombian daMaddColombian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
[quote]Originally posted by allaboutduncan

That's probably the best solution. Although, I'd suggest a signal amplifier between the cable box and the TiVo. You should be able to get a small (8-12 db) one at Wal-Mart for less than $20.

Would this do the trick?

http://www.impactacoustics.com/produ...1006&sku=41106
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-06-2005, 07:09 AM
allaboutduncan allaboutduncan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 200
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yes, it would....if you were opening your own electronics store.

Seriously, that's overkill. It's made for retailers and massive A/V setups.

Here's an example at RadioShack.com (over priced):
http://tinyurl.com/74xo9

I've seen them at Sears, Wal-Mart, Lowes, Home Depot, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
07-06-2005, 07:26 AM
daMaddColombian daMaddColombian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
LOL, I know I was just kidding. Thanks though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
07-06-2005, 07:53 AM
allaboutduncan allaboutduncan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 200
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I figured you were.

The weird thing is, those setups aren't ideally suited for what we do anyway. Yes they process multiple signals and boost the signal, but contain no shielding at all. You'll get lots of bleed and noise when using multiple signals on those massive units (a lot of them anyway).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
07-06-2005, 12:06 PM
Tcel93 Tcel93 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Radio Shacks 1 to 4 bi-directional signal booster is about $50 but works great. I have two of them boosting the signals in my house now. I actually need to get another one, but am seriously considering the one daMaddColobian posted above
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Decisions on TBC, VCR and capture card setup? lordsmurf Project Planning, Workflows 20 11-05-2009 10:14 PM
Old VHS/8mm tapes - which setup yields best quality? ramrod Capture, Record, Transfer 7 10-16-2009 10:27 PM
Good quality restore/capture setup? tobias Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 21 04-28-2009 11:05 PM
Proper black level setup 777sp2 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 12-04-2005 04:14 PM
Hardware Setup / TBC-1000 (Suggestions) CaZeek Encode, Convert for discs 3 11-27-2004 05:25 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM