Quantcast Large dish satellite question - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-06-2005, 05:51 AM
stoogedog stoogedog is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi, just wondered if i had one of those large dish satellite systems could i pick up channels like sun tv in canada and international channels from other countries like australia. let me know. any and all info appreciated. thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-06-2005, 06:07 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,755
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
Australia? No.

Canada? Probably not.
Encryption would prevent it. And non-Canadians cannot buy it.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-06-2005, 06:18 AM
tobal2 tobal2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mauldin, SC, USA.
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to tobal2
Encryption, as well as the orbit of the satellites would prevent that from happening. Unless you got extremely lucky and a company was wasting bandwith to mirror content that people weren't even supposed to see anyway

Back in the "old days" you could pick up tons of different feeds with the traditional systems. From what I've read lately it just looks to be a variation on the smaller DBS systems now (Dish, Direct, etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-06-2005, 08:15 AM
battle7 battle7 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 28
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to battle7
I was thinking the same thing when we had ours, was wanting to get japanese anime broadcasts in Japan, but don't think its possible due to satellite alignment and as Ron said encryption. However we were able to pick up fast feeds from certain channels, fast feeds are shows that usually show one week prior to being shown in their scheduled timeslots.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dish Network HD - Is it possible to record it ? MOTUfan Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 4 02-05-2008 04:06 AM
Satellite problem: wavy lines in picture Skuff Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 11 08-09-2006 12:43 PM
Extracting a quicktime film from a large data file Tranzor Computers 3 07-14-2006 10:02 AM
HDTV on satellite: Signal outages due to severe weather ? Neuroslicer Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 3 01-19-2006 07:53 AM
DVD Shrink file still too large? battle7 Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 1 06-02-2005 11:45 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM