Quantcast Are TBC (Time-Base Corrector) digital or analog? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
09-13-2015, 07:03 AM
Dead Christmas's Avatar
Dead Christmas Dead Christmas is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 95
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Hail forum,

I'm looking at a really nice Betacam SP deck, it's a BVW-75. However, I'm concerned about the machine performing inconspicuous analog to digital conversion. I've had terrible experiences with devices that do this kind of thing (analog to digital, I've never used a deck with a built-in TBC before).

Would the BVW-75 likely have a digital TBC, or some other kinds of digital processing?

Maybe, since the BVW-75 doesn't (I assume) apply any digital compression to the video, would I even notice the digital conversion to begin with?

Thanks!

Last edited by Dead Christmas; 09-13-2015 at 07:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-13-2015, 07:43 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
A "digital TBC" (software) does not exist.

All modern TBCs are "digital" because an analog signal is input, processed in a buffer (computer RAM), and an analog signal is output. It does not output digital data, because that's not it's function. It cannot output digital data, as it's not that simple. That's what capture is for (A>D).

Not all A>D is the same kind of A>D. I have a feeling your experience was with a crappy capture device, and not the A>D>A of a TBC.

This is a really good video on how a TBC works:


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Dead Christmas (09-13-2015)
  #3  
09-13-2015, 08:43 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Quote:
It does not output digital data
Kramer SP-11D spends the signal also in Digitally [SDI]
and also in FBAS / S. video and YUV

http://www.hdtvsupply.com/kr-sp11d.html

My Betacam SP has only SDI for picture.
Audio is by XLR.
My Betacam.... Digital -S with 4:2:2 is also separated audio in XLR
However, has not used these recorders for a long time any more.


Digitally also goes with the Snell & Wilcox NRS50
http://www.kitplus.com/FORSALE/Conve...s_/148464.html

Only analogously from goes with the AVT8710 and the TBC Enhancer of Electronic design [colour shift + and minus]
vertically and horizontally
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Goldwingfahrer for this useful post: lordsmurf (09-13-2015)
  #4  
09-13-2015, 09:21 AM
Dead Christmas's Avatar
Dead Christmas Dead Christmas is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 95
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
So, if I were to use my (I just bought it!) BVW-70's TBC bypass switch, I shouldn't encounter much, if any, digital processing?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-13-2015, 01:09 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,134
Thanked 350 Times in 287 Posts
In practice, you won't notice any difference in video processed by a TBC outside of correcting the actual time-base errors. The unit's built into VTRs tend to be pretty transparent in operation. They do not "compress" video, it is stored in a buffer of roughly 4-6MB of RAM (for a full frame TBC). One nice feature the TBC in this VTR has is dropout compensation, so small tape defects will be automatically masked.

Most of the video artifacts you see here with high end TBC decks tend to come from the dynamic noise reduction systems the decks also have. If a deck like the BVW-70 has DNR, there will be a switch to disable it as well.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank NJRoadfan for this useful post: Dead Christmas (09-13-2015), lordsmurf (09-13-2015)
  #6  
09-13-2015, 06:34 PM
Dead Christmas's Avatar
Dead Christmas Dead Christmas is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 95
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Would the video DNR be the same sort of thing as Dolby C?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-13-2015, 06:46 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,134
Thanked 350 Times in 287 Posts
Not the same. Dolby C requires the source material to be encoded in order for it to work. The DNR circuits in VTRs analyze video and remove what it believes to be artifacts/noise on the fly.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank NJRoadfan for this useful post: Dead Christmas (09-13-2015), lordsmurf (09-14-2015)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Myth or fact: Timebase corrector (frame synchronizer) should always be used? premiumcapture Tech Myths, Misinformation 17 12-06-2020 02:43 PM
For.A FA-125 time base corrector vs. DataVideo TBCs? volksjager Capture, Record, Transfer 8 05-21-2018 07:37 AM
In need of an external Line Time Base Corrector history1 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 58 05-22-2015 07:51 AM
Can a Casablanca Video Editing machine be used for time base corrector (TBC) ? pete Edit Video, Audio 3 02-14-2012 11:52 AM
AV Toolbox AVT-8710 Multi-Standard Time Base Corrector, for sale, $180 [SOLD] threshold Marketplace 6 10-03-2010 08:07 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM