11-20-2005, 12:22 PM
Premium Member

Hi,
I am contemplating getting the new iPod Video and among other things using it to bounce movies back and forth to instead of burning discs for those "watch once" movies. I'm pretty new to MPEG-4 and though I know chapter and verse what resolutions the iPod will handle, I was wondering if anybody is familiar with what MPEG-4 resolutions and bitrates look good on a regular CRT TV. From what I've read the iPod will support MPEG-4 at resolutions that don't exceed 230400 pixels in total. So if I get out my abacus and slide rule I should be able to get away with a 512x384 resolution for a 4:3 AR. Does anyone know what bitrate is reasonable for "SVCD-like" quality at this resolution?? I will be using the Nero Digital Codec. Most of the iPod info on dvdrhelp.com is understandably Mac-centric, and I've posted the same question there with no replies. I realize this question is probably outside the intended scope of this forum but this type of use for video is only going to get more commonplace. I have been experimenting but have not got the iPod yet, if any other XP users can even throw me an educated guess I'd be grateful. Thanks for your time. - GMaq
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

11-20-2005, 02:50 PM
Site Staff | Web Development

MPEG-4 by it's very nature is inferior to MPEG-2. Sure, lots of research and theory dictates MPEG-4 is progress, but that's just not how it is in practice. So, it'll never be as clean and high quality as MPEG-2. But it won't be bad by any means.

While MPEG-4 can be either progressive or interlaced, the interlaced stuff almost never works right. So just count on it being progressive. 23.976 with an IVTC (inverse telecine) and/or forced deinterlace (odd or blended, whatever... I'd do odd, personally).