Quantcast PowerDVD has no audio, but plays the movie video okay ? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
06-22-2006, 02:19 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 327
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
before i reinstall windows xp ... let me ask you guys if you've come across this situation and have an easier solution.

about a week ago, my dvd player software, like powerdvd and intervideo, playback the movie but without audio.

everything else outputs audio. eg vlc, classic media player.

all other bells & whistles for windows seem to be okay too, eg starting & exiting windows, arrival of mail etc.

i uninstalled and then reinstalled both cyberlink & intervideo, alas no luck.

also uninstalled & reinstalled my soundcard drivers. i have creative soundblaster audigy platinum.

so people, any ideas?

or do i have to wade through the installation of everything ground up?

big ta in advance.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-22-2006, 08:15 AM
cp32 cp32 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 255
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Do you have all the codecs & Plug ins ? You may need an audio codec?
What version of Powerdvd are you using???? That version may not support Ac3 audio ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-22-2006, 08:41 AM
debwalsh debwalsh is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA.
Posts: 58
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah, I'd have to agree with CP - it's more likely a codec or a patch needed for the software than anything else. I've run across that problem - and VLC seems to ignore any issues with files and play anything. I have files that have no audio in Intervideo, but VLC plays them with no problem. You should check the home page for each player to see if there are any patches, and check their knowledge bases to see if other users have reported the problem - the answer may be right there.

What types of files? If they're XVID, you can download the latest codec right from their web site, and that will probably resolve the issue right there.

Otherwise, rather than reinstall XP, try uninstalling the player software, do a cold boot, and then reinstall it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-22-2006, 03:38 PM
MagnificentMarcus MagnificentMarcus is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , Washington, USA.
Posts: 283
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Here is something that might work-maybe. Try disconnecting your computer from the power and let it sit for while. I was told by a computer guy that sometimes audio cards can be effected by static feedback. I know it works for my laptop when the audio won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-22-2006, 10:52 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 327
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
MM - i will try as i can't lose. strange how other players, like vlc, output the sound though?! and the rest of windows output sound without probs.

CP & DW - yes, i completely forgot about codecs. old age i guess. too much beer methinks! but just to say powerdvd & intervideo were working for months & months and then suddenly whammo goes out last week.

i'm using powerdvd 7 & intervideo windvd 7. all my dvds, hundreds & hundreds of retail & homebrew worked a-okay until last week.

okay, weekend coming up and guess what i'll be doing? yup, hunting for AC3 probs with powerdvd & audigy soundcard ... and i can bethca my last pound i'll be reinstalling everything!

okay, ta for your help. will post back what i find out so as to help others in similar position in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-23-2006, 04:57 AM
Tranzor Tranzor is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what version of power dvd do you have? I had this happen to me once a long time ago. I upgraded powerdvd and then anything played in it had no sound. SO i went back to my previous version (newer versions past the number I upgraded too have all worked fine) and I had sound back again.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on Olympus LS20m HD video/audio recorder vs DSLR video ? rocko Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 1 12-28-2011 05:44 AM
How to swap audio for a dvd movie? manthing Edit Video, Audio 4 09-19-2010 09:32 AM
Video plays two clips intermittently naga Capture, Record, Transfer 1 07-07-2008 09:49 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM