Quantcast JVC DRM10 disc error, can't format disc - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Blank Media

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
03-31-2012, 01:47 PM
ieee488 ieee488 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 68
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have several DVD-RW discs that were used in my Magnavox DVD recorder.
I want to use them on the JVC.
These discs are now empty, but the JVC won't format them.

EDIT:
I got a brand new DVD-RW disc (Fuji made in Singapore, great discs) and the same error.
The JVC thinks that there isn't a recordable disc.

Last edited by ieee488; 03-31-2012 at 02:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-01-2012, 06:52 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,457
Thanked 1,572 Times in 1,373 Posts
Are these 2x DVD-RW or 4x DVD-RW? And then verify that these are DVD-RW, not DVD+RW.

If it's confirmed to be a 2x DVD-RW, then try a full format on the computer, using ImgBurn.
Sometimes burners/recorders do a "dirty" write, which requires a full blanking in a computer before working again.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-01-2012, 09:09 AM
ieee488 ieee488 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 68
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Are these 2x DVD-RW or 4x DVD-RW? And then verify that these are DVD-RW, not DVD+RW.

If it's confirmed to be a 2x DVD-RW, then try a full format on the computer, using ImgBurn.
Sometimes burners/recorders do a "dirty" write, which requires a full blanking in a computer before working again.
But it does the same thing with a virgin 2x DVD-RW disc (Fuji made in Singapore, a brand that worked flawlessly before). I still had a box of 5.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-01-2012, 09:12 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,457
Thanked 1,572 Times in 1,373 Posts
Well, if you've managed to considered every possible options that is disc-based, then the drive may finally be going out. After all, it's an 7- or 8-year-old unit. That's assuming it's one of the LSI Logic models, like the DR-M10S or DR-M100S. I don't recall which model you have. It can be repaired, with the right parts.

DVD-RW are the hardest of all media to read/write, and first to go when the laser is weakening.

But I'm still not convinced it's definitely NOT the media.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-01-2012, 09:21 AM
ieee488 ieee488 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 68
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have the DR-M10.

I also put in a regular movie DVD and it got the same DISC ERROR.

I suspect the drive needs to be replaced.
Where can I buy a replacement drive?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-01-2012, 09:23 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,457
Thanked 1,572 Times in 1,373 Posts
It depends on which model is inside the unit. Open it and look. You'll need to swap it with an exact or near-exact copy of the burner. You can gut another JVC recorder, or find a computer burner. Remember that DVD recorders are just using normal DVD burners most of the time -- it's not a special recorder. At most, they're using a specialty wire for data transfer, which can be modded.

I've not yet had to repair a JVC recorder's drive myself, but have advised many on how to do it -- successfully, too.

You're pretty much stuck with buying from eBay. I don't think JVC has parts available anymore (but feel free to check).

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Player can't read disc anymore? BD-R 25GB movie disc error kpmedia Blank Media 0 12-07-2010 11:45 PM
Blu-ray adds new 100GB and 128GB disc/format specs! kpmedia Blank Media 0 04-08-2010 02:45 AM
Power calibration error trying to copy a disc ? d.smyth Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 1 01-19-2006 08:16 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM