digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Blank Media (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/media/)
-   -   Which blank DVDs should I buy for archival quality ? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/media/4407-blank-dvds-buy.html)

ccjjff2 07-23-2012 01:15 PM

Which blank DVDs should I buy for archival quality ?

I am new to transferring old home movies, super 8, reg 8, and VHS tapes to DVD. I guess I am very new to this. I thought putting these 20+ year old tapes onto a DVD would protect them for 30 or 40 years easy. Now it seems I need to carefully select a good “Archival” DVD – who knew. I had the super 8 and reg 8 films transferred using Costco source who put all on DVDs, which say “DVD archive quality DVD-R 8x”, but no brand names or details.

As for the VHS conversions, I have a 5 year old or so Sony VHS to DVD recorder which I have successfully converted a few VHS tapes to DVDs, but I simply went to Target and Best Buy and bought two 25 packs of Memorex DVD-R 16x 4.7GB 120 min discs and Sony DVD+R 16x 4.6GB 120 min discs, not noting or knowing the difference between +R and –R.

The DVD burner I have is what comes built in with my HP computer; HP 5000 series
s5623w; DVD Multi Recordable DVD R DL. I purchased 123 CopyDVDGold to copy the disc I make from my Sony VHS to DVD recorder, and burn a new DVD with my computer DVD burner.

So, what do I do in order to do this correctly?
- Which DVDs should I buy in order for these DVDs to last at least 20 years like the tapes have done?
- Should I use +R or –R and why?
- Now I see 8x on these “archival DVDs” and not 16x, which should I use again and what is the difference between 8x and 16x?
- Lastly, any suggestions on the equipment above I plan to use or the copying software?