Quantcast Finally ordered new media moments ago!!! - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Blank Media

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
06-21-2005, 07:01 PM
MOTUfan MOTUfan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia, MN, USA.
Posts: 123
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I ordered my first 50 pack of Taiyo Yuden 8X DVD-R silver tops.

Next payday I'm ordering printables

Brent

Patience is a virtue, but when dealing with a Panasonic a sledge hammer would be so much faster.......
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-22-2005, 05:22 PM
wayshway wayshway is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to wayshway
Taiyo Yuden's are excellent discs.

bobby
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-22-2005, 11:33 PM
daMaddColombian daMaddColombian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So does this mean that Prodisc aren't good anymore?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-23-2005, 01:00 PM
MBates05 MBates05 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 44
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I never had a problem with 4x pro-disc but I started to get a bunch of problems when i switched to the 8x. Now the only thing I buy is TY.

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-23-2005, 04:05 PM
jenstewart jenstewart is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Devils Lake, ND, .
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My burner won't burn Taiyo Yuden's, but it has no problems with Prodiscs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-23-2005, 11:14 PM
debwalsh debwalsh is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA.
Posts: 58
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jen - Is that the Digicopier that won't burn TYs? I can't burn Fuji media in my Digicopier, either. Won't even recognize there's a blank disc in the drive.

So far, I've been having consistently good luck with Verbatim discs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-23-2005, 11:24 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,173
Thanked 1,990 Times in 1,716 Posts
Fuji's Japanese media are TY. Sounds like the "Digicopier" has a drive that cannot see TY media, which isn't a good thing.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-24-2005, 01:33 AM
debwalsh debwalsh is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA.
Posts: 58
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's an LG 8X drive, too. I don't have problems with the read drive, but the write drive just won't recognize 'em. So I use Maxells and Fujis for my masters, Verbatim for copies, and for people who have old fussy players, CompUSA.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
06-24-2005, 03:38 AM
daMaddColombian daMaddColombian is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How are Ridata/Ritek?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
06-24-2005, 09:39 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,173
Thanked 1,990 Times in 1,716 Posts
Ritek are not that great in the USA. Some of the RIDISC UK stock may be alright, but I would still just avoid it in general if you can. RITEK hasn't been good media in 18 months or longer.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #11  
06-24-2005, 09:51 AM
MOTUfan MOTUfan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia, MN, USA.
Posts: 123
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I can atest to how bad Ritek is. My last batch of DVDs were Ritek and they were maybe 5 out of every 10 discs of Id say fifty percent bad, on the good side.

Brent

Patience is a virtue, but when dealing with a Panasonic a sledge hammer would be so much faster.......
Reply With Quote
  #12  
06-24-2005, 02:05 PM
jenstewart jenstewart is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Devils Lake, ND, .
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by debwalsh

Jen - Is that the Digicopier that won't burn TYs? I can't burn Fuji media in my Digicopier, either. Won't even recognize there's a blank disc in the drive.

So far, I've been having consistently good luck with Verbatim discs.
Deb,

Yes, my DigiCopier either won't recognize TYs or gives me a coaster. By the way, I sent my burner into the company last month for the second time. Both times it died on me after about 300 DVDs. But I love it when it works!

Jen
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to find media ID for CD media? admin Blank Media 0 12-23-2008 09:08 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM