Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Blank Media

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-13-2013, 08:06 AM
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer

1 DVD + R creates and catch fungus?

2 my DVD + R before handling Always wash hands with water but unintentionally I touched down on the surface of the disc, I'm worried about fungal growth on the DVDs?

-- merged --

Can someone help me with these questions please?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

09-27-2013, 12:19 AM
Site Staff | Web Development

I've been using DVD-R (and later DVD+R) for almost 15 years now. I've never seen fungus in or on discs. Never. And I've handled at least half a million discs. (I never counted. It's probably more!) That just does not happen. Never seen it, never even heard of it.

Some CDs, yes -- but that's another story. It's VERY rare, and can only infest CD, not DVD, because of how the discs are made. It also has a lot to do with location, and the quality of the CD media.

Again, DVD, no. Never. Not a worry you should have. Just use good discs, store them properly, the end.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
09-27-2013, 07:17 AM

1 My friend has a disc with dark spots and other transparent disc with holes, holes as if corroding media inside and increase in size, what is it?

2 Because fungi can only infect CD and not DVD + R? what DVD + R has to protect it from fungus attack? I know of no material DVD that is immune to fungus

3 my media is Philips DVD + R 16X ID: CMC MAG M01
09-28-2013, 04:26 PM

1. Define "discs". Verify it's a DVD.
- DVD+RW often form craters in the dye.
- Cheap DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW and DVD+RW can have bonding issues, which can affect the outer perimeter of a disc.
- CD can have pinhole issue in the foil.