Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-20-2012, 05:52 PM
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo

Today this was waiting in my inbox:

Quote:
'You' refer to 'operating a forklift' as a demeaning skill level compared to converting 'analogue video' to 'digital'.I have little knowledge of 'flipping burgers' so 'no comment'.

In my time I was a 'Qualified forklift instructor' as certified by the RITB ie the same board who qualify 'HGV' drivers.

I am now involved with 'professional' video applications right through to converting analogue video formats to digital formats for copying or editing.

I am therefore qualified in both areas to comment about your references !
All forklift operators must gain a 'Certificate' after usually a one week course of intense instruction.
One mistake on the 'test' fails them.
Anyone can attempt to convert video with no qualification whatsoever.
Your articles are excellent ,but respectfully suggest you remove your 'operating a forklift'
I never cease to be amused or amazed by some of the strange emails sent to our inbox.

Most of the weird ones are people who get all pissy and whiny about the usage of certain words, or have taken offense to a reference or analogy.

I'm instantly reminded of two comparable situations, to help illustrate:
  • In the new Disney movie, The Pirates! Band of Misfits, there was a funny scene where a leper's arm fell off. In response, leprosy organizations complained and cried, so Disney removed the scene. Apparently Lepra Health in Action and the International Federation of Anti-Leprosy were up in arms. (Zing!) It's political correctness on steroids, and I think it's sad that Disney caved on the issue.