Quantcast Time zone wrong on the forum? Posts show wrong times? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
05-31-2012, 10:33 PM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi KPMedia, Just a query..

I had set up the Timezone to GMT+8 Singapore time... However the timing shown in my thread, like my latest post, was not correct....
Its morning 9.30am (1st June 12), now but the timing shown there was 8.30+pm (yesterday)?

** scratch head...

Thanks for making the effort to maintain this forum with your busy schedule.... Thumbs up!

Regards
Faustine


This question was asked in a private message. Rather than hide our tech advice in private conversations, Site Staff will often answer PMs (from any site) here in the digitalFAQ.com forum, so that others may read and benefit from our expertise. Please continue the conversation here. Either login or join as a Free Member, and we can continue troubleshooting your video, photo or web related issue. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-31-2012, 10:35 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,319
Thanked 371 Times in 340 Posts
Moving this from PM to forum post, in case others have observed similar issues... (If so, please post!)

I'm attempting an OpenX integration for the site ads, and there's is a known bug in OpenX screwing up vBulletin post times. I've modified the code, but I don't yet know if time zones show correctly outside CST, where we're located. I only integrated one ad spot, and have yet to finish beta testing it. There's a chance that my "fixed" integration code still improperly overrides forum time. If that ends up being irreparable, I'll remove the integrations and continue with the older (but less desired) ad management code.

Writing PHP is about as fun was mowing a lawn with sewing scissors.

This post is being written on 5/31 at 10:35 p.m CST -- actually CDT, because it's "daylight savings" in CST right now, to be technically accurate.
Does this show as 10:35 p.m. to you? Or some other day?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-31-2012, 11:29 PM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It shows 10.35pm, yesterday!

Hehe...

I do agree.. I'm no coder myself.. I see stars with codes... lol!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-18-2012, 07:43 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,918
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Testing the time again. It should be fine now?

7:43 p.m. CST real time

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
07-18-2012, 11:10 PM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Testing the time again. It should be fine now?

7:43 p.m. CST real time
hmm it doesn't appear the right time here.. for GMT+8.. i guess..

It should appear as 12.10pm GMT+8 for the timing now but it shows yesterday 11.10pm
Reply With Quote
  #6  
07-19-2012, 12:34 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,319
Thanked 371 Times in 340 Posts
One hour off is better than it used to be.

You may need to go into your profile, and adjust the daylight savings (DST) and/or pick another time zone that makes the clock match up.
We'll have to use another ad manager now, but it's better than having everybody see way-off incorrect clocks.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
07-19-2012, 01:28 AM
faustine faustine is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi KPMedia,

The problem is, I've already set my timezone to GMt+8, but it still shows your time zone only... CST I guess.. .so that's why its showing Yesterday, instead of today Noon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
08-06-2012, 04:32 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,918
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
IF anybody else can report their forum times, it would be helpful in troubleshooting this issue.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
View latest forum posts by time: 30/60/90 days, etc lordsmurf General Discussion 1 02-01-2012 06:18 AM
What's Wrong with these Pioneer DVD Burners? Harry Blank Media 10 06-05-2010 02:56 PM
Used wrong capture settings - how to fix? admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 11-03-2009 08:41 AM
Verbatim DL: possible wrong discs listed Tranzor Blank Media 2 08-05-2006 07:59 AM
VOB file time frame wrong in Arcsoft preview!@! geekfemme Edit Video, Audio 2 06-29-2006 03:09 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM