Quantcast New Guide: How to Encode MPEG-2 with Avidemux - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
03-16-2013, 04:09 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,359
Thanks: 129
Thanked 560 Times in 429 Posts
RE: Avidemux, Avidemux

Latest digital video guides:
Have Comments or Feedback?


As always, feel free to share your opinions, comments, etc, here in the forum, in this very thread.
If you're not already a member of The Digital FAQ forum, simply join as a Free Member. Or better yet, become a Premium Member.
If you liked it, then please share it on Facebook, Google+ and Twitter, by clicking the links on the editorial page.
Useful tips or updates from the community may be added to current/past guides, at the author's discretion.

Thanks for reading.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-17-2013, 11:52 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I just used the guide to set it up, but then I realized, I can't figure out how to start the process. I don't see a "start" or "go" option anywhere. I thought it might be the "Load/Run" project icon, but I clicked it & nothing happened. I clicked the "go" option at the top and I then selected "play/stop" but all that did was play the video...is that what I want, or would it be something else?

-- merged --

I still need assistance with this please, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-23-2013, 11:03 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 588
Thanked 916 Times in 821 Posts
I'm working on some tweaks to the guide -- having to do a lot of testing first, before it's done.
It'll be a few more days.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-23-2013, 11:22 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Not a problem at all. Thanks!

-- merged --

Just bumping

-- merged --

Is there another good program that I can use to transfer avi to mpeg to be able to put onto DVD with good quality?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-08-2013, 03:13 AM
JMP's Avatar
JMP JMP is offline
Former Site Staff | Computers
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 171
Thanks: 5
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
I believe MainConcept Reference (now TotalCode Studio) can handle this as well, but it is not freeware.
-JMP

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Check out my latest Editorial.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-08-2013, 03:34 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I'd like to use the Avidemux, but I just need to know how to start it after I apply all the settings that are outlined in the guide..

-- merged --

Can someone instruct me on how to do that? That's the only thing that I couldn't figure out how to do, because it wasn't listed in the guide..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-10-2013, 02:53 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 207
Thanked 325 Times in 309 Posts
The issue was Avidemux 2.5 and 2.6 were different -- maybe too different. So much so that a separate 2.5 and 2.6 guide probably needed to be created. Several times, I found that Avidemux would crash where Avideux 2.6 would not. But I'm not sure if that was this computer, or the program itself.

Because we have a difficult work schedule last month and this month, its had to wait. We do want to revisit it soon.

In theory, its as easy as File > Save > Save Video

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


Then save as the correct file type. For MPEG, name the file "filename.mpg"

That's it. Try it.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-10-2013, 03:51 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Oh interesting. I ended up having to do a full system recovery, because I lost connection one night and even the ISP couldn't help me fix it, so I did that hoping it would fix the connection problem and also take care of other problems I had, that were talked about in other posts. Fortunately everything is fixed now. However, I had to re-download the Avidemux. Should I go with the 2.6 version?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
04-10-2013, 11:49 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 207
Thanked 325 Times in 309 Posts
Sure. Try it, see what happens.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
04-11-2013, 03:55 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I got the Avidemux 2.6 downloaded last night and based off the last picture provided for how to save it, I think we have different versions. On mine, when I go to "File" - "Save", there's no arrow like in your picture. It tells me to select an area to save it at, so I did that and when I clicked save, I got an error message come up that says:

[Mismatch]
Bad width/height for DVD

and when I click ok, another error box comes up that says Muxer cannot open and when I click that, it says the file was not saved correctly. I entered it just as you said to, with the filename.mpg
Reply With Quote
  #11  
04-11-2013, 07:21 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 207
Thanked 325 Times in 309 Posts
Are you giving it a DVD compliant video?
The instruction were for converting AVI captures to MPEG assets for DVD. Not converting videos from another source.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
04-11-2013, 08:50 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Yeah, this particular file is .avi ..

I also have mp4's that I need to convert, so those would be different steps for the mp4s?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
04-11-2013, 09:48 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 207
Thanked 325 Times in 309 Posts
We can't make that guide right now.

What I suggest you do for those is use ConvertXToDVD. It's works very well, and looks almost as good as MainConcept for quality AVI (Xvid/Divx) and MP4/MKV (H.264) files. That's the best way. It's only $45 (use coupon below), and that's cheap for good video encoding software.

The easiest free way is to use VirtualDub first to convert to an intermediary Huffyuv file (resize to proper DVD resolution, etc), then use Avidemux. But that's not dummy-friendly like ConvertX.

You can try to use Avidemux for encoding AVI, too, but it's honestly too buggy for my liking, for non-capture sources.

Tip: Use coupon code 62DDFF434E for 10% off ConvertXtoDVD.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
04-11-2013, 10:10 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I actually have main concept, you suggested it for me a few years ago, but I'd use it for encoding after I captured a video tape to my computer, then I'd use that to encode it before putting it on DVD. Would that program work for what I'm doing now? Or should I use this ConvertToDvd? Is there guide for that on here already?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
04-11-2013, 10:56 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,143
Thanks: 207
Thanked 325 Times in 309 Posts
If you have MainConcept, there's no reason the use Avidemux.
It can be used for converting AVI/MP4 to DVD, but you need to set everything up. It's not drag-and-drop-and-go.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
04-11-2013, 11:15 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Ok, I don't have MainConcept on this computer, it's on my desktop that's not working, I made a post about that many months ago actually. I just watched a video tutorial for the ConvertXtoDVD, it said that if you put a blank dvd in, it'll just write it to DVD just from clicking the Convert button.

Is that all I need to do, or is there some settings I should change first for avi to dvd and mp4 to dvd?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
04-12-2013, 01:50 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 588
Thanked 916 Times in 821 Posts
Then I suggest putting MainConcept on the computer that does work.

When I use ConvertXToDVD, I author it to a folder on the hard drive, without menus.
Then I "burn" it to an ISO file in Imgburn.
Then I use DVD Decrypter is IFO mode to extract the streams.
Then I use Womble to save it back to an MPEG container. (Cut off 1 frame from the end.)
Then its ready to use in my authoring program - usually Ulead DVD Workshop 2, though not always.

Other times, I author menu-less discs to the hard drive, and burn those with Imgburn.

I never use ConvertXToDVD to burn.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
04-12-2013, 02:04 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Ok..I'll try those steps. I don't have MainConcept installed, because I don't capture video to this computer, so that's why I didn't put it on here.

When you author to a folder in ConvertXToDVD, do you change any settings, or do you just hit the "convert" button?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
04-12-2013, 02:13 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,253
Thanks: 588
Thanked 916 Times in 821 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superstar View Post
When you author to a folder in ConvertXToDVD, do you change any settings, or do you just hit the "convert" button?
The default is usually correct.
Just don't put too much on one disc, or it'll look bad. Two hours at most is what I suggest.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
04-12-2013, 02:59 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 606
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
"Then I use DVD Decrypter is IFO mode to extract the streams."

How would that be done? Just select the IFO mode and it does it automatically, or is there more to it?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a DVD recorder to encode and author DVD unclescoob Encode, Convert for discs 3 09-14-2011 12:24 PM
Encode or re-encode, one progran as good as another? cyber-junkie Encode, Convert for discs 1 08-13-2010 05:05 PM
How to Encode Audio to AC3 with Good Quality [GUIDE] lordsmurf Encode, Convert for discs 2 06-17-2009 10:10 PM
Editing with Womble MPEG Video Wizard [VIDEO GUIDE] admin Edit Video, Audio 12 03-05-2009 10:39 AM
MPEG Editor Info: Womble MPEG-VCR vs MPEG Video Wizard vs VideoRedo mitch Edit Video, Audio 10 10-13-2005 04:50 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd