Quantcast Is this site loading slow? Any 'not found' errors? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-19-2015, 03:27 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,361
Thanked 606 Times in 445 Posts
Several major changes were made to the site over the weekend.

Now comes the testing.

1. Does the site load slower than normal? (1) the initial connecting to the site (2) page-to-page (3) posting to the forum (4) other
2. Do you ever get errors (404, 500, 522, etc) in the browser? If so, what is the code?
3. Is anything missing or not working correctly anymore?
4. Report others errors you see.


Thanks.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-19-2015, 05:57 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,079
Thanked 334 Times in 274 Posts
I was getting Cloudflare errors earlier. Yesterday afternoon the site wasn't responding at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-19-2015, 09:10 PM
mrmuy97 mrmuy97 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Opera was loading any page on the site noticeably slower as of a few days ago, and when any page does finally load it immediately forwards to "http://www.digitalfaq.com/error.htm" - though stopping the initial page before it finishes loading can prevent the redirect to the error page. Chrome seemed fine in Win 7 and OS X. Chrome on Lollipop gave Cloudfare error yesterday, might have been 500.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-19-2015, 09:11 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Site loading fast, but for awhile (My first session on Forum pages) I saw "Server not found" (Firefox) in all the ad/sponsor/hosting areas, then later all the ad/sponsor/hosting looked normal with ads in them, after I got into my account page,then back to forums pages...Right now after logging in (2nd session) I see "Server not found" (Firefox) in those areas again...Plus I only see members listed in the "Currently active Users" bottom of any page,no guests,but that may be something new?..Plus now that I went to another page and back here,all the ads are there now.

Noticed posting seems to take a longer than usual time after clicking "Post"..But I did notice a (New?) thing that redirects right to my new post also a very long time after clicking link to this thread..just kept circling (waiting to load)..untill I stopped and re-loaded...But today on Amazon things were taking a long time to load on my browser also (Firefox)..Due to MLK Day? Heavy traffic?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-19-2015, 10:26 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,361
Thanked 606 Times in 445 Posts
I appreciate the feedback. I've made some more tweaks just now, so now see if anything loads faster/better.
There are some definite problems here with the page speed.

Testing posting with this post.

Yeah, I definitely feel lag. Working on it....

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-20-2015, 11:01 AM
GaryG45 GaryG45 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Vernon Hills
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Much faster today. Past two days I usually got a site not found, and I think it was an error 522 or 552. I was able to get in yesterday afternoon, but it was extremely slow. Hope it stays the same as today.

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-20-2015, 10:23 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Better today,Faster loading post, and ads are in their spots (Firefox, 8:22pm pst)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-21-2015, 07:24 AM
MisterNeutron MisterNeutron is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
This morning, the forums are loading quickly, but are lacking their CSS entirely.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
01-21-2015, 10:45 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,361
Thanked 606 Times in 445 Posts
That was odd. I just refreshed the CSS in vB real quick.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
01-21-2015, 10:47 AM
MisterNeutron MisterNeutron is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yes, the forums are back to their normal formatted behavior now, and are coming up very quickly.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
01-21-2015, 07:25 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 69 Times in 63 Posts
Sometimes lightening, sometimes it just hangs, but it has always seemed like that. 90% of the time very quick.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
01-22-2015, 10:03 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,834
Thanked 1,676 Times in 1,456 Posts
90% of the time isn't good enough. Since most of the forum is used for video topics, this concerns me.

So I'll be migrating it within the next week to an infrastructure better suited for our forums. The speed will hopefully be significantly increased in the process. It's already a fast site, but it can be faster.

The limits of uploading files is also a nuisance. I'm tired of it. That will also be rectified.

The past few years have been rough for me, but I'm getting better. I can resume my duties now as siterunner.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
01-25-2015, 11:03 PM
rocko's Avatar
rocko rocko is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 458
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Please Lord, Don't forget possible user equipment/browser errors affecting speeds too!..(For example) I recently found that when My Carbonite is uploading, all my browsing speed is cut almost in 1/2.)

Last edited by rocko; 01-25-2015 at 11:19 PM. Reason: add
Reply With Quote
  #14  
01-27-2015, 02:32 PM
MisterNeutron MisterNeutron is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I've been running into extended periods during which I get a 522 error when trying to reach digitalfaq.com. The accompanying display shows that Cloudfare is working, but that it can't access digitalfaq.com.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
01-27-2015, 02:42 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,361
Thanked 606 Times in 445 Posts
The site should be much, much faster now.

There are some things that are broken, but we;ll get them fixed in coming days. (The +6 clock is most aggravating.)
We'll have a full analysis of what's been going on when done.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Haproxy - fixed DDoS 508 error, but site now loads slow? joxocafeco Web Hosting 8 08-15-2014 04:28 AM
Improving the site navigation and site menus kpmedia General Discussion 0 11-25-2013 07:53 AM
I found these Prospec processors from Japan Cyclone82 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 04-24-2012 03:36 PM
How to slow-mo videos, change framerates to slow it down dyfan Edit Video, Audio 1 04-29-2010 05:16 AM
Common Web Fonts found on both Mac and Windows admin Web Design + Site Planning 0 08-11-2009 12:59 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM