Quantcast VLC upscale blocky, but MPC-HC not? (but less detailed?) - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
02-19-2015, 05:56 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
I have been converting some DVDs using Handbrake and noticed that when upscaled to fill my HD monitor with the full 4:3 frame, VLC makes SD look blocky. When I play with Media Player Classic, it does not.

Do different video players put out different image qualities? Also, any way to fix the blockyness in VLC? I prefer to use it as I use it on Mac as well.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-19-2015, 11:14 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,921
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Each one has deblock filters. What are they set to?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-19-2015, 11:30 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
VLC is on default settings with no filters shown to be on, MPC shows the same thing.

Only difference I can see is MPC uses bilinear resizes while VLC uses bicubic. I notice even WMP looks less blocked when resized, but blurrier.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-22-2015, 06:18 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
You can compare the various resizers in VirtualDub or Avisynth: bilinear is softest, precise bicubic and Lanczos are sharp.

Another important consideration is the chroma resampling that is used.

Additionally, the image in MPC will be affected by your graphics card's processing features if you have any of that garbage turned on. I think VLC bypasses that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
02-22-2015, 08:11 PM
premiumcapture premiumcapture is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 585
Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
I am using an Intel 4790k i7 and am only using internal graphics (hd 4600?).

Are chroma resampling settings changed through the software or is it built into windows?

I have a feeling after playing around it's probably my monitor. I think there are a few different presentation modes I need to play with but it's just a thought. I just never expected the same video to look different on different software (wmp is worst by far).
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blocky, bleeding VHS video needs restoring Nightshiver Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 61 11-15-2012 09:50 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM