Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-25-2016, 02:40 AM
Free Member

I am completely new to copying video tapes to digital.

I bought a Sony TRV 350 digital 8 camcorder. This camcorder has a built in TBC. I have used this Sony Camcorder to convert about 20 Hi eight tapes to digital. I used Video Studio Pro X7 to capture and edit the footage. I copied the raw and edited footage to a Transcend external 2 TB hard drive that spins at 5400 speed. The edited footage, I rendered in H264. I think the Sony raw footage is MPEG 2 but I do not really know. So that is about all the experience I have.

I am planning to do the same thing with about 30 VHS tapes that are 120 min in SP mode. Some are in LP but most are in SP mode. The Sony TRV 350 has a Passthrough ability where I plan on using it to convert the analog signal from the VHS player to digital. None of these tapes are SVHS. All of the VHS tapes, original sources, are from a VHS C Camcorder. So every one of these tapes are a copy and not original footage.
I used a consumer VCR I had bought at circuit city to copy from the VHS C camcorder. I do not remember the brand or anything else about the VCR or camera but I am sure it was mid range equipment at least as far as price went. They were bought about 1988. The latest tapes were shot in 1993. I then bought the Hi 8 camera that shot the tapes mentioned above.

I bought a Panasonic 7650 Pro SVHS deck. I have since learned this wasn’t the most brilliant move so Ill have to eat the $100 loss from craigslist. I also have a Panasonic regular VHS consumer player. It has component out and S video out and no TBC.. The component out does me no good because the Sony only takes in S Video. The model number to the VCR is Panasonic DMR-ES35V. It also has a built in DVD copier.