Quantcast Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7 froze on me today - anybody know why? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Photography > Photo Cameras: Buying & Shooting

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
10-28-2010, 10:34 PM
Sossity Sossity is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 434
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I was taking some snapshots with my point & shoot Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7 with a 12x optical zoom.

All of a sudden when I press the shutter button down, the screen went blank, all the icons were showing, & the camera just froze. I tried to turn it off & on but nothing happened. The lens would not retract. So I put the switch in the off position, & just put it in my bike bag, I had to be somewhere & did not have time to mess with it then & there.

When I got back to my car with my bike, opened the bag with the camera in it, & the lens had retracted.

I then later turned it on & off, & everything seemed normal, the last shot it froze on did not take, but everything else for that day, video & photos were still there on the card.

I tried taking a couple of snapshots, & it seemed normal, but I did notice it was a bit slow to process the picture & return to the screen.

what happened? I have only had this camera since July of this year. I am using a sandisk class 4 8gb SD card. I looked at the manual & it did say for shooting video a class 6 or higher card would be best. I was using the card that came with the camera, as I had spent a bit & did not feel like buying a whole new card right away. I have been shooting video & photos without problems up until this one incident.

other than that I have not done anything out of the ordinary with the camera. I have kept it clean & in a bag. It was a bright sunny day, & I was taking bright sunset shots when this happened, but I have taken photos like this before. Does a full or near full memory card cause problems like this? I do have a bit of material on it. Perhaps this affects the write or memory buffers or something like this?

So I am a little nervous & not sure what to do next, is the camera faulty? or do I need a different memory card?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-28-2010, 10:52 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,258
Thanked 355 Times in 332 Posts
It sounds like the battery is low. Recharge it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-28-2010, 11:05 PM
Sossity Sossity is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 434
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I will try a recharge, but I believe the battery was fully charged, it was not low, or at least it showed full capacity on the LCD screen.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
10-28-2010, 11:23 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,258
Thanked 355 Times in 332 Posts
If that camera is anything like my cell phone, the battery meter is a liar.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
10-29-2010, 01:05 AM
Sossity Sossity is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 434
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
that's weird, how am I supposed to keep track of the battery? or know when to recharge? that is like the broken gas gauge in one of our cars.

does anybody think this did some sort of damage to the camera?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
11-02-2010, 02:19 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,552
Thanked 1,404 Times in 1,233 Posts
If it's just a dead battery, then no, I doubt it would be damaged in any way. Cameras generally have safeguards built in to prevent operation of a task that will require more juice than what is available in the current battery. I constantly push my Nikon cameras to empty batteries, all the way to the point where the body locks up and won't let me do anything at all. Then I swap them, and all is well again. Remember that 100% draining a rechargeable battery is how they're designed to be used -- a recharge at 50% use will actually diminish the life of the battery, and it can also screw with the meter than shows life still present.

Yes, just like the gas gauge. In my car, it's about 3/4ths gone when the needle is on half full. I think it's the way the tank is designed (geometry), and where the measuring device sits in it. A battery is probably not all that different.

Just recharge and try again.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can my Panasonic DMR-ES10EB record Freeview channels from my Panasonic TX-L-32G20B TV Peter_T_Ross Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 4 09-01-2010 05:20 AM
Three JVC DR-M100S available today only lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 40 04-20-2007 05:06 PM
Got my new dvd recorder today ninjastriker Capture, Record, Transfer 6 01-19-2006 10:42 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM