06-20-2011, 03:46 AM
Free Member

first off, i'm a complete newbie to photography - never used a camera before!
i mean i've used a compact point & click camera. but have never touched a "serious" camera.
so i need advice as to what is a good SLR camera.

what is a good SLR (film) camera body? and what lenses would fit that specific body?

what will i be shooting with the camera?
- people
- buildings, interior and exterior
- landscapes
- beaches

when will i take the snaps?
- probably during 10AM - 10PM - ie when i'm out & about visiting sites
- i may venture out early dawn time if i'm able

what will i do with the photos i take?
- store them in a photo album
- some may be put into small (6x8 inch) frames
- perhaps a few will be blown up to hang on walls

i'm sure some of you will suggest getting a decent DSLR will meet all my requirements. but lets leave DSLRs out of this.
i have a fair idea of which DSLR to get if i choose to go down that route. please give me a breakdown of the kit i need to get: body + lenses + camera bag + tripod + 35mm film + flash + batteries etc.

oh yes the key question: what is my budget?

i know that if i went the DSLR route, i'll be spending something like $2000 to $2500 for my kit. so i suppose that is also my budget for the SLR solution.
ok, over to you good folks...

-- merged --

for some reason i'm unable to edit the earlier post - so i'll say in this post.
i'm probably using some of the wrong language / wrong descriptions in my 1st post. i ask your forgiveness for this.
when i ask for advice on a SLR camera, i actually mean a "film camera". something that will take, say, 35mm rolls of film.
thanks.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-20-2011, 01:04 PM
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo

Will update this post with an answer tonight or tomorrow.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter