Go Back    Forum > Digital Photography > Photo Cameras: Buying & Shooting

LinkBack Thread Tools
03-16-2012, 05:02 AM
Free Member

Hi

I have an EOS 5D MKII that I am very happy with but I had an email from Jessops a couple of weeks ago announcing the new EOS 5D MKIII. Having looked at the tech spec on their site - http://www.jessops.com/online.store/...4404/show.html, I was a little confused as to what the main differences are between this and the MKII. I am no expert when it comes to hardware and rely heavily on forums for advice (which up until now has been spot on) so I was wondering if anyone could enlighten me? I did find a manual today at http://www.theverge.com/2012/3/16/28...-manual-online which may be useful but I would appreciate any thoughts from those of you "in the know"

Thanks
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-16-2012, 03:11 PM
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo

Both Canon and Nikon are somewhat stagnant right now, in terms of the features on their "new" bodies. I put "new" in quotes because the photographic aspect of the cameras has mostly remained unchanged from their 2010 and 2011 bodies. There's really nothing new of note -- nothing to get excited about. The biggest push in SLR cameras right now is increases in video abilities. So if you're like most photographers, you probably won't care all that much about the latest-and-greatest offerings from the big two camera manufacturers.

The differences between the Canon 5D Mark II and Canon 5D Mark III -- much like the Nikon D3s and Nikon D4 -- are minimal.

In the case of the 5D bodies, comparing EOS 5D Mk II vs EOS 5D Mk III:
  • the resolution is almost the same
  • the DiGiC processor is almost the same (one generation apart, which doesn't mean much)
  • the max frames per second (fps) went up from 4 to 6 -- which is honestly not much of a boost; still a far cry from 9/10/11 fps
  • there are more focus and meter points, but many photographers find these to be overkill anyway