03-20-2011, 11:43 PM
Free Member

please point me towards a good site that shows how to colourise b&w pictures. and yes i know it is an open ended question, so you could give me thousands of answers! but for starters, one or two will do. i've learnt a few techniques, but could do with a few more.

much appreciated.

This question was asked via email. Site Staff no longer answer tech questions via email, so that others may read and benefit from our expertise. Please continue the conversation here. Either login or join as a Free Member, and we can continue troubleshooting your video, photo or web related issue. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-21-2011, 05:14 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
Let's start here: What methods do you currently know now?

Most of my colorising techniques are ones that I learned on my own, self-taught, because of existing skill with pro photography and business use of Photoshop. What I often do is use brushes and manipulate the layers. And then you'll zoom in to the image at least 200-300%, and use small/tiny brushes to color in detail areas. Around fingers and ears, for example.

There's also something to be said for manipulating the B&W image with various B&W filters, which can help un-darken or even un-lighten certain areas of the image. And again, you'll find yourself using multiple layers, or layer masks, because you'll want to apply those filters on an area by area basis, and not to the whole image.

My first colorize attempt took weeks of effort, and it's honestly not gotten much faster.

I've seen similar techniques shown in detail in a very good UK magazine, which runs about $15/issue in USA after import. I'll look for it next time I go to the bookstore, and then hopefully I'll remember to come here and post the name of it. The whole magazine is dedicated to artistic use of Photoshop. Few ads, nothing basic.