11-07-2019, 10:11 AM
Free Member

Hi,

Like many people, I have a large collection of vinyl and tapes that I'd like to begin converting to digital. I already have this device https://www.amazon.com/M-Audio-Track.../dp/B000BD31ZW that I use to do guitar recordings directly into my computer garageband software, so I was wondering if all I'd need would be RCA to 1/4" cables? I assume I could run cables from my (vintage!) Kenwood receiver's RCA output jacks into the M-audio's mic / instrument inputs? Or won't that work? Someone suggested that I should use RCA to RCA and use the "unbalanced" outputs (wouldn't that be inputs?) on the M-audio. I've never done any of this transferring before so need to know how best to accomplish it. Thanks....
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

11-07-2019, 01:01 PM
Free Member

I'm not sure if that device is suitable for capturing audio line level and phono levels for turntables, you probably would need a dedicated USB audio capture device that has the option to accept line level and phono level with a selection switch, Some devices have option to select the phono cartridge impedance like the Terratec device in the picture:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Terratec-PhonoPreAmp-iVinyl.jpg (35.9 KB, 32 downloads)
11-07-2019, 02:00 PM
Free Member

Interesting, and thanks for the reply. Let me ask this...what do you feel is the simplest way to accomplish what I'm trying to do? I would think that this is something many people have done. I know they make those cabinet-like devices that have a built-in turntable, tape and CD player, etc. that can make the conversions, but can't imagine that it produces real high quality.