09-16-2020, 02:03 AM
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer

I'm trying to transfer Betamax and VHS tapes to Digital.. I have alot of lower quality home movies and there's some parts of the tapes that's dirty or where there's no signal, and without a TBC the device blanks out all of that and also drops frames.. I just bought a Prime Image TBC/Freeze and it does keep the signal and no frames drop but with it connected it adds other glitches, picture flickers at times, (a vertical flicker), and some times there's color bars.. Anyone could recommend a good TBC that's not too expensive that's going to work right without adding other issues? perhaps something on eBay?? I'm new to all this, and seeing different ones out there some with frame synchronization, 10bit etc.. Some have mentioned DVD recorders as a passthrough, I rather buy a standalone TBC..

Devices used: ClonerAlliance Pro box which actually does very well, Higher end Betamax VCR SL-HF750 in BII speed, which puts off a better picture than the standard two head VCRs..

Let me know..

Thanks..

Last edited by ada1985; 09-16-2020 at 02:24 AM.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

09-16-2020, 03:03 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
Prime Image TBC/Freeze is worthless, bad unit, typical rackmount junk found cheap on eBay. That sort of gear was not made for consumer sources like VHS/Betamax, and will never work properly with it.

ClonerAlliance Pro is a gamer capture card, and also will never work well with consumer video source.

You need a both a video capture card, and a TBC, that was intended for VHS/Betamax type sources.

Better cards include ATI 600 USB, etc.
And frame TBC needed include models from Cypress, DataVideo, etc.
Remember to check the marketplace, for members there who have extras available (or have finished their projects).

The upgraded Betamax deck is good, but do the same for VHS with the S-VHS decks (with line TBC).