01-19-2021, 06:57 PM
Free Member

Hi. I have the ATI TV Wonder Pro that I've been using for years with a Windows XP desktop. Recently the desktop shut down and I took it to be repaired. They cleaned out the dust and now Windows works fine. However, I'm getting an error message:

"Unable to start TV

Check the Windows Device Manager to ensure that the correct video driver has been installed and is working properly before attempting to restart TV

PC Check may help diagnose this problem. Start PC Check utility after pressing OK (check box there and OK button)."

The PC check didn't work.

I'm not a newbie, but I'm not an expert, either. I can't find the 9.8 driver if that's what I need. Will 9.15 even work on XP or my old hardware?

I only use the part of the software that grabs the closed-captioning from the TV shows and saves it as an HTML file.

Not sure to do so please help!

I uninstalled the software, but now I can't find the original software to reinstall. So stupid of me, I know.

I looked here but not sure which one would be the one I need.

http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...der-hacks.html
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-19-2021, 10:24 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
MMC is not a driver, merely the capture software (mostly good for ATI MPEG capturing).

For now, ignore MMC.

Is the card found in VirtualDub? If not, you have bigger issues that MMC or VirtualDub. In that case, the entire driver package needs to be reinstalled. Which card is this? Do you have the original installer CD?

Have you rebooted lately? Sometimes MMC is temperamental, won't start. Reboot fixes.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: slanoue (01-20-2021)
01-19-2021, 10:38 PM
Free Member