Go Back    Forum > Digital Photography > Photo Processing, Scanning & Printing

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-27-2009, 06:35 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
continued from private message ...
Quote:
Think I'm going to take the plunge on getting really good scanner(s), looking for two things.

One for still images and another for 8mm film with automatic loading/advancement. Any recommendations?

I'm willing to spend some decent cash but if it starts getting out of the $1000 range...

I've seen the telecine machines for film but they seem to be a bit clunky especially considering what you can get from scanner.
The budget should work for you. Up to $1,000 can get a lot of good gear.

I'll also assume you want to scan for (1) prints up to 8x10, maybe 34-x larger max for a few special ones, and (2) for video slideshows.

But first... A PREFACE:

I've been working with flatbed scanners since 1992, and scanning film since the mid 90s. When I started, everything was SCSI, and 300dpi was cutting edge tech. I've run the gamut of brands from high-end Kodak RFS pro scanners, down to the cheapo piece-o-crap devices sold in Walmart. I've had crummy 150dpi up to a ridiculous 9600dpi. From below 8-bit color to a needless 16-bit. I'm not an "expert" (I refuse to use that word for myself), but I've spend thousands of hours sitting in front of scanners in the past 18 years. I've worked for newspapers scanning at 200dpi, to magazines that wanted 1200dpi.

I can see through myth, BS, dogma and marketing crapola very easily. I know the difference between theory and practice. A lot of what you'll read -- online, especially -- falls into one of those categories (crap, BS, dogma, etc). You don't need high "bits" or DPI for top quality images. A lot of features are gimmicks, too. It sounds great on paper, but doesn't mean much when you're actually doing work and not memorizing specs off the sides of boxes.