Go Back    Forum > Digital Photography > Photo Cameras: Buying & Shooting

LinkBack Thread Tools
10-28-2010, 10:18 PM
Premium Member

I was reading a review about the Nikon d7000 on amazon, & one of the reviews mention these newer cameras, where there is not mirror box so the camera body is smaller.

As I have mentioned I will be using the camera for general photography, & low light, & artwork.

are these cameras as good as a traditional DSLR? would it be as good in quality (build & image quality) as the Nikon DSLR's & the d7000?

If a micro 4/3 would be as good, are there some models I could consider?

I know I am flooding this forum with questions, but I am a bit new to DSLR's, have a budget, & want to get something that will last me awhile.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

10-28-2010, 10:47 PM
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo

You'll need to remember that many (most?) online user reviews are left by idiots that know less than you do. Or at best, as much as you do. This sounds like one of those instances. These are the same people who cannot set the clock on a VCR and complain about it (blaming the VCR) -- or praise a product because it has a pretty remote (nevermind that the device works horribly).

Not having a mirror box would mean there is not an optical viewfinder. There is clearly an optical viewfinder, so that's just a bunch of crazy hogwash that you read. There's obviously a mirror in the body, based on the Nikon engineering photos shown on Amazon:

D7000_Mgbody_1_l._.jpg

Other images show an obvious pentaprism used in viewfinders.