Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-19-2011, 02:51 AM
Premium Member

Starting a new thread to break up my questions, I am on a macbook pro 2010 laptop, & learned it has a firewire port as well as usb.

If I decide to with separate enclosures for my external hard drives, I would like to utilize the firewire port on my mac, & am torn for the firewire spec. Is 800 really better than 400? I ask as I am a college student on a budget, & will likely get more hard drives in the future, & notice firewire 800/usb enclosures are alot harder to find & are about 2 times as much as 400/usb enclosures.

I like the idea of firewire drives not using the cpu. I work with photo & video files as well as music files.

or would I be better off just sticking with usb 2.0?

I would still like usb option as well as firewire as I want my hard drives to be cross platform to use with pc's as well.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

02-21-2011, 04:17 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
Quote:
Is 800 really better than 400?
It's maybe twice as fast. I don't recall the exact actual speeds (ignoring the theoretical), but it is most definitely faster. I use a firewire 800 drive for photography work.

Quote:
notice firewire 800/usb enclosures are alot harder to find & are about 2 times as much as 400/usb enclosures.
That sounds about right.

Quote:
I like the idea of firewire drives not using the cpu.
This isn't always important. It really depends on the setup. For example, for a shared network drive, USB is terrible, because it will hobble the machine from doing anything else that's CPU intensive.

Quote:
I work with photo & video files as well as music files.
This is a bit generic.
Speed needs come down to the size and complexity of data.
Consider:
JPEG vs DNG / NEF / CR2 ?
MP3 vs WAV / AIFF / DolbyE / multi-channel AC3 or DTS ?

Quote:
or would I be better off just sticking with usb 2.0?