04-19-2011, 03:19 AM
Free Member

OK, so I'm a total newbie with this application and I managed to fall at the first hurdle.

The help file states that "The editor brings up a new video player for every successful open operation." but it does not give any indication as to what could be wrong when as in my case nothing happens, not even an error message.

What have I missed? Should I point to a external video player somewhere?

Second question: My first project is to edit a DVD that a friend recorded for me from TV where I only want half an hour in the middle of the two hour recording.

When I read the guides on this site I had the impression that I needed to use DVD Decrypter first but as that produced a VOB file which is the same type as on the original DVD I'm not sure I understand why?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

04-19-2011, 07:37 AM
Site Staff | Web Development

Quote:
When I read the guides on this site I had the impression that I needed to use DVD Decrypter first but as that produced a VOB file which is the same type as on the original DVD I'm not sure I understand why?
A VOB file is how audio/video/nav data is stored for the DVD-Video video format. DVD-Video supports UDF or UDF/ISO bridged file system, and ISO has a 2GB file max size. I don't remember the specific reason, but all files on a DVD must be less than 1GB each, hence 0.99GB files.

When you use DVD Decrypter in "IFO mode", you extract usable non-split VOB files. Homemade DVDs can be safely and easily edited from this point, as the nav data is very basic, and the audio formats are almost always PCM, MPEG layer, or Dolby. Commercial/retail DVDs, on the other hand, tend to have more "stuff" in the VOB files, making them harder to edit, thereby requiring extra extraction steps.