Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-16-2011, 04:29 PM
Free Member

Hello all...

I was wondering if any of you would be willing to offer your insight/opinions on mac compatible dvd burners?

I've been shopping for a second dvd burner for a Mac Pro (2010) for some time. After visiting the websites of several companies, I'm under the impression that any reputable SATA burner would basically be plug-and-play in my Mac, but that most conventional dvd burners would require the purchase of third party software to take full advantage of their capabilities.

Does this sound correct?

thanks.

Last edited by hue_man; 09-16-2011 at 04:30 PM. Reason: specifying "Mac Pro, 2010"
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

09-16-2011, 04:48 PM
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo

Also refer to this recent post: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/medi...urner-pre.html
I contains some related information.

Quote:
Does this sound correct?
Not entirely, no. Let me explain by replying to some other quotes...

Quote:
After visiting the websites of several companies,
Which sites, in particular? Some sites have great information, while other sites are written by incompetents.

Quote:
I'm under the impression that any reputable SATA burner would basically be plug-and-play in my Mac
This statement, as quoted, is the correct answer.

Of course, it assumes the computer you have is currently using a SATA burner, and not an IDE/PATA burner.
External USB2 drives would also be perfectly fine.

Quote:
but that most conventional dvd burners would require the purchase of third party software to take full advantage of their capabilities.
This is where the "no" comes in. DVD burners are hardware connections, and software has no effect on connectivity. At most, DVD burners come with software discs, but it's always junky "backup" software, and almost always made for Windows computers.