Go Back    Forum > Digital Photography > Photo Cameras: Buying & Shooting

LinkBack Thread Tools
10-25-2011, 09:32 PM
Premium Member

I have been using an Olympus Camedia C-3040ZOOM for the past 10 years for general photography. I have had no complaints and the camera offers some nice features. Namely full manual control, a bright f1.8 lens (f2.6 at full zoom), standard AA batteries for power, and a nice hand grip for one handed shooting. I purchased it because it was a "prosumer" model ($700 new), offering the controls found on expensive SLRs in a point and shoot size. The problem is it uses the now obsolete SmartMedia flash cards and its well... 3.3 megapixels.

Anyway I had the following replacements in mind:

1. Olympus XZ-1: This appears to be a true replacement for my current camera. It offers a f1.8-2.6 lens, the same manual controls and it has a 11MP CCD sensor (no rolling shutter effect). It is also modestly priced at $500.

2. Olympus PEN E-3: This camera offers the same features as the XZ-1, but has the flexibility of interchangeable lenses (micro 4/3rds mount). The biggest con I keep reading about is the noisy 14MP CMOS sensor that is apparently a 2+ year old design. The included kit lens isn't as fast as the XZ-1's, but I can always purchase a prime f1.8 lens later on.

3. Panasonic DMC-GH2: This is also a micro 4/3rds mount mirrorless SLR. Image quality is generally better then the Olympus (the camera has a 16MP sensor). The only con I can find in reviews is that JPEG quality is poor in low light situations (and avoided by using RAW mode). This also seems to be last year's model, Panasonic may replace it with a GH3 soon.

So it basically comes down to fixed lens vs. interchangeable lens camera. At least I have the luxury of time to make a decision. I also have to hit a few "real" camera stores to try out these models, places like Best Buy can't be bothered to put the above cameras out for display, or even stock them in-store.
Someday, 12:01 PM