Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Edit Video, Audio

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-26-2012, 08:48 PM
Free Member

Hello,
I am very new to all this and trying to learn as much as I can. Sorry if this is a stupid question.

I'm trying to rip some footage off a DVD of a film that I was in (I'm an actress) so I can update my demo. I'm using Mpeg Streamclip to do this. I've used the gspot tool to analyze it. Under pics/s it says 23.976 and under frames/s it says 29.97. Should I be telling Mpeg Streamclip to export it at 23.976 fps or 29.97 fps?

I believe that film is always at 24fps, but I read a bunch on your site here about maintaining the original specs of the material when encoding. So I am a bit confused about what do to here.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

thanks!

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-26-2012, 11:53 PM
Free Member

Hi,
It depends on the format of your destination demo reel. It's true that film is shot at 24fps, but when it's put on video, it's slowed down imperceptibly to 23.976fps. Another aspect is that, traditionally video has always been displayed at 29.97fps.

So how do you display film at the slower rate? They simply repeat parts of it so that it averages out in speed. This is called 3:2 pulldown.

How it works doesn't really matter; it's just that if you're putting clips together for a DVD, it will all eventually have to be 29.97fps. If you are making some other file, like for the web, you have the option of going straight to 23.976 or 24fps.

So that's my first question. Also list the other programs you are using to put it together, and if all the clips are from film or if there's some parts from normal video.

It's funny, my Dad had a small part in a somewhat famous film, and I went through the same process!

ps I just realized that movie has never been released! I have the only copy now...

Last edited by jmac698; 07-27-2012 at 12:13 AM.
07-27-2012, 12:20 AM
Free Member

HI JMac698,