01-02-2014, 07:44 PM
Free Member

I know it stands for "search engine optimization" but what is this exactly? Is it a service I should do and pay for? I have a "Professional Business" website and asked my designer what they recommended to boost my web hits, and placement in the search engines and they recommended SEO.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-05-2014, 09:23 AM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyber-junkie View Post
I know it stands for "search engine optimization" but what is this exactly? Is it a service I should do and pay for? I have a "Professional Business" website and asked my designer what they recommended to boost my web hits, and placement in the search engines and they recommended SEO.
I'm not an SEO expert, so I won't comment on the post however, this would be a great post for @kpmedia to chime in on.

What type of business are you referring to? Is it an "internet" business or a local, "brick & mortar" business?
01-06-2014, 10:24 AM
Free Member

It's a local construction type business, there are several in my area and I want to be higher in the listings on-line as it seems many are searching there first these days.
01-06-2014, 09:14 PM
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo

I need time to think how best to answer this. I've long wanted to write a guide on what SEO is in the 2010s, and what it was (and now is not) in the 1990s and 2000s. There's so much myth and BS out there, and so many so-called "companies" and "experts" that simply take your money for nothing. Many more sell snake oil and promise things -- with exclusions in the fine print that undo their promises.

For now, don't spend any money on it.

What is the site?

The term "SEO" is really myopic anyway. What you really need is "marketing".

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.